Gamecube Homebrew Launcher

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jademalo, Sep 14, 2008.

Sep 14, 2008

Gamecube Homebrew Launcher by Jademalo at 2:13 PM (13,568 Views / 0 Likes) 56 replies

  1. Jademalo
    OP

    Member Jademalo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, this is taken from wiibrew:

    Purpose

    Launch Gamecube homebrew on Wii. Read before using! Program can be dangerous, because the flash is changed.
    Changes in Version 0.2

    1. Support for front SD slot.
    2. Gamecube disc work normally.

    Background Information

    DOL loader is patched into MIOS. If Wii switches to Gamecube mode, the DOL loader is always started. The loader will start Gamecube homebrew if loaded by GCBooterHomebrew. The loader launches the normal GC loader if no homebrew is detected. This behaviour can be disabled by reinstalling a normal MIOS.
    Installation Steps

    1. Copy RVL-mios-v5.wad.out.wad into root of front SD card (This file is not part of the archive and is located on Super Mario Galaxy Disc (EU), Mario Kart (EU) and maybe on all discs released in between). If you use a different version, this is on your own risk. The MIOS patching wad installer will only allow to install MIOS. This can only break the GC mode. Loader should not patch any starlet code.
    2. Patch MIOS using MIOSPatchingWADInstaller.
    3. Copy your Gamecube Homebrew DOL into SD root as start.dol. Use Wii front SD slot.
    4. Launch GCBooterHomebrew. This should start the the DOL on the SD card. If screen looks strange, you need to try it again. It is sometimes not working.




    and now, a few questions.

    1. What is exactly being patched.
    2. I already have SMG and MKWii, does that mean i dont need the patch?
    3. can someone rewrite the instructions in readable english?
    4. Does this mean that normal gamecube disks work like normal, and will boot the .dol file that is on the wiis SD card?
    5. With step 2, is that just installing a normal MIOS, or is it slightly modifying the one that you download from SMG/MKWii?

    im worried about how this works>
     


  2. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    1. The MIOS
    2. You don't need the patch. It's to play GameCube homebrew on Wii.
    3. It is English. Easy to understand. Think.
    4. Run the Gamecube Homebrew Booter included in the package. I haven't tried a Gamecube disk yet.
    5. It installs a patched MIOS (modified) which loads the DOL loader when Gamecube mode is started.
     
  3. Jademalo
    OP

    Member Jademalo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  4. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    I just used this yesterday, its safe, finding the .wad was a hassle though someone helped me out with it. After installing I was still able to play GC games so your Wii is still fully functional. I was able to load GC Homebrew like USBBoot V2 and got a Paper Mario: TYD backup to load, so yeah, its great.
     
  5. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    2. You can read. It's not in the archive of that game it says.
    3. Learn to understand. It's not hard.
    4. Once you've installed the patched MIOS.
    5. All this does is load the start.dol gamecube (not Wii) homebrew on the root of the SD card.
     
  6. Jademalo
    OP

    Member Jademalo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it says that its not in the archive that you download with the program in it.
    You need something from those disks, and i think ive got it now, you need that, and the installer program thing patches that wad and installs it to the MOIS
     
  7. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.

    You can get it from WUFE.
     
  8. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So it loaded on an unmodded Wii? Did you need a SD Gecko? Did you load the game from DVD or SD?
     
  9. Treflex

    Member Treflex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question: I see that this supports booting gamecube discs, but is it straight from the disc channel or through the homebrew app?
     
  10. Jademalo
    OP

    Member Jademalo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im getting an error.. it says failed -1 mor something, then goes back to the HBC. then, when i run GCBoot, it doesnt load my dol.

    help?

    do_wad() failed with rv -1
     
  11. Jademalo
    OP

    Member Jademalo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cmon people, i really need help here

    =[
     
  12. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you got the MIOS -5.wad on the root of sd card?
     
  13. LoudMaximus

    Newcomer LoudMaximus Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Does this allow for the official Nintendo emulator for a few n64 games to run on the wii too?I don't know too much about it I'm afraid,I can't even remember its name or anything I just know I heard something bout it a while back.Its just this would be a nice way to play zelda majora's mask without waiting for a new version of wii64 or a vc release
     
  14. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for adding yet another question to this thread, but I'd rather not clutter up the forum with a topic similar to this one.

    I just need to clear this up.
    If I buy an SD Gecko, and install the Gamecube Homebrew launcher, I can just use it to load GCOS and run Gamecube backups without any mod chips right off my SD card?
     
  15. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'd like to know this too... Also, is it possible to uninstall the wad again?
     
  16. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    1. Yes it is possible to uninstall it.

    2. Regular Gamecube Games boot fine on the Disc Channel with version 2.

    3. It is possible to load Gamecube backups with Gamecube Homebrew Launcher, an SDGecko/USBGecko and SDLoad/USBBootv2. It will not work with GCOS, but I prefer SDLoad anyway. So yes you can run backups all you need is an SDGecko.
     
  17. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks a lot for the information [​IMG] To be honest, I don't care how I run GC backups, as long as I can [​IMG] I just saw this list again, and I'd gladly 3 euros for that [​IMG] I'll just go and order my SD Gecko then... I've been wanting to buy it multiple times now (for Twilight Hack and such) and this time I'll just order one... I hope it'll work [​IMG]
     
  18. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Hmm, is the first version still available anywhere? I like the idea of GCOS autobooting when I start any GC disc, would save a lot of import-disc-swapping hassle.
     
  19. OneUp

    Member OneUp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    This will not allow you to use GCOS to boot gamecube games. If you have a modchip you should already be able to boot GCOS multiboot games and all. If you want to boot GC backups, you would need SDBoot for a SDGecko or a clone of it, or USBBoot if you have an USBGecko.
     
  20. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    So If I get SD Boot, SD Load, and an SD Gecko I can boot GC backups?
     

Share This Page