Gamecube Backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Rock Raiyu, Apr 8, 2011.

Apr 8, 2011

Gamecube Backups by Rock Raiyu at 4:01 AM (3,066 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I can't find my answer anywhere so I'm hoping I can just get my question answer.

    Can a Wii with a GC2-D2E drive play Gamecube backups through discs?
     


  2. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, you should be able to.
     
  3. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet, thanks for the answer!
     
  4. neonfire999

    Newcomer neonfire999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    would you need to hard mod to do this or is it possible through soft modding?
     
  5. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    You can play backup discs with just a softmod. There are some drawbacks though such as lower read speed.
    This, of course, still needs a DVD thats capable of running backups (DMS, D2x)
     
  6. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    As Lucif3r already said it's possible with softmod, but only with a D2 drive or older. If you have a newer one and really wanna play backups they are some modchips which support D3 drives.
     
  7. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    But those still wont accept DVDs in the DVD drive. Actually the only chip I know about is Wiikey fusion (iirc) that also hosts an SD card slot, which you have to place your games on.
    Of course, theres always the overpriced Wode (DVD hardware emulator, allows you to plug external USB devices into it).
    Imo, the best option to play backup discs on the new DVDs (d3-2, d4) is to simply replace the control chip with an older model. They are around the same price as a Wiikey Fusion, and A LOT cheaper than a Wode.
     
  8. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,547
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  9. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    I dont understand... That doesnt make the D3-2 drive capable of playing backup discs, does it?
     
  10. neonfire999

    Newcomer neonfire999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, well I have the black wii that has the D2E drive so I should be able to play backups.. But it's the new one without native gamecube support so even if I could play gamecube backups there isn't really any way to play them because of the missing controller and memory ports correct?
     
  11. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    pretty much, unless you want to get the soldering iron out and add GC/Mem ports.
    But d2e? I assume you have replaced the drive then?
     
  12. neonfire999

    Newcomer neonfire999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    shoot.. that kinda sucks..
    and no, I got it this way :blink: it's one of the new ones that come bundled with new super mario bros and i checked here and it says I have the GC2-D2E drive..
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you serious? I haven't seen a single report of a Wii that is not white to read DVD-Rs.
     
  14. neonfire999

    Newcomer neonfire999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, well I'm planning to go out and get an SD card and a few Verbatim DVD-Rs today so I can test this thing out.. After searching around for a while last night, I think there is a very good chance it can read backups.. I can keep you posted if you're interested
     
  15. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you bought it new there is 0 chance it has such an old drive chip. Most likely it got a D4.
     
  16. neonfire999

    Newcomer neonfire999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    Then why does the site say that it has a D2E?
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Just start the latest NeoGamma, eject any disc you have inserted and then try to launch from disc. It will tell you that your drive is too new.
     
  18. neonfire999

    Newcomer neonfire999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    But then why does it say everywhere else that D2E drives are capable of playing backups with a softmod?
     
  19. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Just do what wiipower said. Im 99.9999% sure it will tell you the drive is too new, if you bought it new. In other words, you DO NOT have a d2e drive.
     
  20. neonfire999

    Newcomer neonfire999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    What should the copyright year on my wii be if the drive is too new?
     

Share This Page