1. Cylent1

    OP Cylent1 Community Smart Ass!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    Hello...
    I am curious to knew how games know it needs an update if my switch is banned?
    I am not online obviusly but some games won't even start without the update.
    How does Nintendo do this?
     
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,218
    Country:
    United States
    Getting ban doesn't block the game from checking if there is an update available if you don't use a blocker like 90DNS or Incognito to block communication between your switch and Nintendo server, being ban just block you from accessing Nintendo online service, updating your system firmware/game update from Nintendo server etc.
     
    Cylent1 likes this.
  3. Cylent1

    OP Cylent1 Community Smart Ass!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    so I should use 90dns or incognito to stop the update notices then?
    I tried 90dns and with my isp (HughesNet) and somehow managed to hijack my dns and resulted in a ban!
     
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,218
    Country:
    United States
    Use Incognito
     
    Cylent1 likes this.
  5. Cylent1

    OP Cylent1 Community Smart Ass!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    and what should I do in in incognito to stop this?
    I never used incognito.
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,218
    Country:
    United States
    It just edit out your prod.info to block communication with Nintendo server, as you are ban already you may as well block all communication so it doesn't nag about about any update.
     
  7. Cylent1

    OP Cylent1 Community Smart Ass!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    should I use Incognito rcm or the normal hoembrew menu version?
     
  8. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,218
    Country:
    United States
    Either is fine, it does the same thing.
     
    Cylent1 likes this.
  9. poopieface

    poopieface Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Another alternative, if all else fails, is to match game versions with another Switch. No Internet needed for that and is a stock feature.
     
  10. Cylent1

    OP Cylent1 Community Smart Ass!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    Shouldn't changing the game version with the lowest firmware keys be good enough?
    I am not getting at what your saying exactly. Wouldn't this be the same?
     
  11. poopieface

    poopieface Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I think I misread your initial question lol...I've always wondered how they do that also. I wonder if being completely in airplane mode would prevent this.
     
  12. Cylent1

    OP Cylent1 Community Smart Ass!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    No it does not prevent that it any way, but airplane mode does allow certain games to work that needs a internet connection that otherwise would error out when it tries to connect.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Questions, Update,