Gaah. Serious problem with GTA: LCS

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by grim_meeper, May 26, 2009.

May 26, 2009
  1. grim_meeper
    OP

    Newcomer grim_meeper Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil
    Okay, I've got a PSP-2000, 3.90 M33-3

    Playing GTA: LCS. I've completed the second island. But when I go towards the third island in order to progress, the game hangs and my PSP shuts down. I mean I cross the bridge halfway, it shows a picture with the text 'Welcome to shoreside vale', it stays there for about 8-10 seconds and my PSP then shuts off.

    I have NOT used any cheats. I even tried to load a save file from gamefaqs which starts on the island, but it again shuts down on the loading screen.
    Help?
     
  2. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    try updating firmware or it could be your iso/cso file
     
  3. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ISO, CSO, or UMD? Own dump or pilfered? Anything ripped or relinked? Game Clock Speed? Memory Stick Size, Brand and Magic Gate Support?

    Not enough info in your post.
     
  4. grim_meeper
    OP

    Newcomer grim_meeper Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil
    CSO, decompressed to ISO using UMDGen same problem there too. Got from a torrent of that green private torrent site. 222MHz (default). Mem stick is Sony 4GB, Magic Gate comes up as unknown in information, maybe a fake but it hasn't given me a problem in the 20+games I've played so far.
     
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The GTA games are notorious for speed problems, be they lag or access, and that's certainly not a Sony stick (as in it's a fake). You may also run into problems decompressing CSO's that someone else has compressed. Does it work as the original CSO? (irrespective of lagging). Also pump your Game speed up to 333 for the GTA games.

    First i'd try a different MS, then i'd try a different ISO. Fake sticks are nothing but trouble in the long run.
     
  6. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    both my 4gb fakes work perfectly though...

    i would say that this is a bad dump. just download another one, and as long as you have the same region, your save will still work.
     
  7. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    People always insist fakes are fine but that's simply not the case, and can each stick only be judged on it's individual merit. A fake stick is a false economy.
     
  8. grim_meeper
    OP

    Newcomer grim_meeper Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil
    Like I said, I experienced a lot of lag playing the CSO, so I converted it into an ISO and was able to play 2/3rds of the game perfectly. Even when I try to load the save from the original CSO, I get the same problem.
    I'm going to download another one. I'm going to be ****ing pissed if this doesn't work. Hours of gametime down the drain.
     
  9. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well if a new game image doesn't work then there's not much else it can be bar the memory stick being rubbish.
     
  10. grim_meeper
    OP

    Newcomer grim_meeper Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil
    In case anyone is interested, I downloaded a fresh copy from another site and it works well now. Thanks for all your help.
     

Share This Page