G6DS Real

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by GravisJ1, Mar 18, 2010.

Mar 18, 2010

G6DS Real by GravisJ1 at 10:06 PM (3,254 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. GravisJ1
    OP

    Newcomer GravisJ1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    Lost my CD for it ages ago, anyone know where I can download a USB driver for the adapter? I can't load any games on it without it, Windows picks it up as an Unknown Device, with or without the card in it.
     
  2. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
  3. GravisJ1
    OP

    Newcomer GravisJ1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    If I said I needed the SYSTEM files, yes I would agree with you. However, no where on that site, nor Google, has any information that I could find about the USB drivers for the adapter.

    Also, don't be a jerk.
     
  4. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Check gbalpha.cn, they're the main website for all M3/G6 products. You'll need to use google translate though.
     
  5. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    I own the G6Real, love it btw and wish it was still supported. Anyway the adapter requires no drivers, if your computer can read a jump drive it should read your G6. The one flaw of the card is that I occasionally get the "unknown" device message. I then have to pull the card/drive out, pull out the card, reinsert it HARD and then I give it a go and 75% of the time I get success and my PC sees it as a jump drive. I build computers regularly from XP to Windows 7 and never needed to find drivers for the G6 adapter.
     
  6. GravisJ1
    OP

    Newcomer GravisJ1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada

    I'll give this a go.

    Edit: Wow, worked on the first go, after giving it a hard push :S

    Thanks a bunch [​IMG]
     
  7. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, it's not supported anymore?

    The system files should be touchpod, which is also be updating to work on the M3.

    Unless the touchpod for the G6 is different....
     
  8. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually I have 2 of those as well.
    Every update for the M3 Real works on the G6 Real ( same team and very similar hardware ) , the only difference in the official firmware is that the G6 can't use RTS which is enabled only on the M3.
    Also M3 real can run sakura, the G6 can not.
    I am not too sure what prevents the team to make RTS work on the G6 real, it always bogged my mind, as I was under the impression that having its own memory in the card itself was actually easier then messing around with microSD compatibility, but what do I know ?
    Anyway the reader it's a plug and play generic usb writer, it's usually recognized and installed automatically by windows, and I tried it under XP/Vista/W7 and I can confirm it works.
     
  9. GravisJ1
    OP

    Newcomer GravisJ1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I guess some of the pins may have been loose, I wiggled, and prodded, and poked and then gave it a good shove into the USB, picked it up and installed it instantly, worked great. Didn't figure brute force to be something that would work, live and learn I suppose. [​IMG]
     
  10. Bobba_fat

    Newcomer Bobba_fat Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Sweden
    After checking the forums out this seems to be the perfect place to ask my really noob question and i ask for forgiveness in advance! but i hope one of you guys can help me out,
    the SYSTEM file that you download, do you just copy it and put it on the root of the G6 flash card or are there any loaders in it or something?
    my real question is: What do i do with the systemfile? and does it contain a loader? i have a g6 lite. appreciate all answers

    http://filetrip.net/f11225-M3-G6-Touchpod-4-8b.html

    here is the latest that i found! thank you!
     
  11. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
  12. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
  13. Bobba_fat

    Newcomer Bobba_fat Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks 4 the reply, and sorry for posting in wrong topic, it just seems you know about it, instead of starting a new.
    I have read through the faq and i still dont get the answer on one question, i have the latest SYSTEM folder, my question is:

    DO I NEED TO DO ANYTHING EXCEPT TO PUT THE SYSTEMFILE ON MY FLASHCARD? a simple Y/N would do, and if its yes then what else do i need to do?

    ps. do i have to really have the systemfile on the card? do they have som information that help get the games started?

    Thanks again for reply! and again sorry for posting in wrong thread!
     
  14. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    And here's the complete link:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=34239
    Like I said, I can't give you a simple answer because I only own a G6 real, but I think you are a little confused.
    Anyway have a good read, I hope it helps.
     
  15. Bobba_fat

    Newcomer Bobba_fat Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks for the effort and help, i didnt realize you didnt have one haha :/ but thanks for the answer though. [​IMG] And yeah, i read trough that faq and some of the others, dang man, when they make something you should always see it through, i feel betrayed [​IMG] haha well it was good while it worked though [​IMG]
     

Share This Page