Formatting the SD card.

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by RemixDeluxe, Apr 28, 2011.

Apr 28, 2011

Formatting the SD card. by RemixDeluxe at 5:55 AM (930 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,297
    Country:
    United States
    From what I heard most people need to format their SD cards in their 3DSes so they dont crash in the middle of gameplay. Before I do this can someone explain how FAT32 is better than regular FAT.
     
  2. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I havent formatted it and I don't have any problems. Don't have heard of it either.
     
  3. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    fat32 allows for larger sd cards.
    I think >2gb needs to be fat32.
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As mentioned, this is true... also IF you use 'proper' formatting software (like the Panasonic formatter) you are unable to format >2Gb to 'just FAT' anyway IIRC

    More 'info' about the differences/Advantages/Disadvantages avaliable here (but it's a bit technical IMHO)
     
  5. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,297
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I just wanna know is it necessary at all to change the format on the SD that comes with the 3DS? Will it make the system run more smoothly?
     
  6. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Well, as far as I know the SD card that comes with the 3DS is 2gb.
    And it won't have ANY effect on the system if you format the card.
     
  7. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    No.
     
  8. dsfanatic5

    Member dsfanatic5 Team ICO Freak

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    762
    Country:
    United States
    The black error screens seem to be more attributed to having your wifi on, rather than formatting the SD card. I don't know what the real cause is, but I started turning my wifi switch off when I go to play a game, and I haven't had any crashes since. Before that, I was getting a crash almost every day, but powering down always fixed the problem. Still annoying though, but hopefully fixed in the next update.
     

Share This Page