1. RemixDeluxe

    OP RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,583
    Country:
    United States
    From what I heard most people need to format their SD cards in their 3DSes so they dont crash in the middle of gameplay. Before I do this can someone explain how FAT32 is better than regular FAT.
     
  2. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,438
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I havent formatted it and I don't have any problems. Don't have heard of it either.
     
  3. Nollog

    Nollog GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,935
    Country:
    Ireland
    fat32 allows for larger sd cards.
    I think >2gb needs to be fat32.
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,132
    Country:
    As mentioned, this is true... also IF you use 'proper' formatting software (like the Panasonic formatter) you are unable to format >2Gb to 'just FAT' anyway IIRC

    More 'info' about the differences/Advantages/Disadvantages avaliable here (but it's a bit technical IMHO)
     
  5. RemixDeluxe

    OP RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,583
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I just wanna know is it necessary at all to change the format on the SD that comes with the 3DS? Will it make the system run more smoothly?
     
  6. AlanJohn

    AlanJohn くたばれ
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,617
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Well, as far as I know the SD card that comes with the 3DS is 2gb.
    And it won't have ANY effect on the system if you format the card.
     
  7. Nollog

    Nollog GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,935
    Country:
    Ireland
    No.
     
  8. dsfanatic5

    dsfanatic5 Team ICO Freak
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    762
    Country:
    United States
    The black error screens seem to be more attributed to having your wifi on, rather than formatting the SD card. I don't know what the real cause is, but I started turning my wifi switch off when I go to play a game, and I haven't had any crashes since. Before that, I was getting a crash almost every day, but powering down always fixed the problem. Still annoying though, but hopefully fixed in the next update.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Formatting,