first time ds flash card user.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by vanultima, Sep 20, 2009.

Sep 20, 2009
  1. vanultima
    OP

    Newcomer vanultima Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I got a acekard 2ki from dealxtreme and i want to know something. do we have to update the card when we get the card, if so by wifi only?
     
  2. CloudSE

    CloudSE Newbie

  3. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Run the 1.4 flasher after you download it somewhere on gbatemp (too lazy to search) Then that's it. ... Side note when people say update I have no idea if they mean firmware or bootloader. Use akaio for better rom compatibility.
     
  4. vanultima
    OP

    Newcomer vanultima Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    OK, if i follow the steps on the wiki ( like formatting the microsd) and update with AKAIO, can i just drag a nds rom into the root and start it up with little trouble? my ds is the fat kind.
     
  5. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much yeah. Get the akaio proper repack and put it on your micro sd (so I don't have to hear someone say why doesn't it go past loading) [​IMG] Optional: Make a folder for roms.
     
  6. vanultima
    OP

    Newcomer vanultima Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help, real fast and friendly help here.

    Edit* i was reading the compatibility issues for pokemon platinum and i dont understand.

    "3541 - Pokemon Platinum Version (U) :: Problems?; Hold X to boot the old DMA mode. GTS won't work unless you boot it in normal mode(Hold A when loading game) "

    am i supposed to hold a when i select it form the start? i have no clue what half of DMA and GTS means.
     
  7. vanultima
    OP

    Newcomer vanultima Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
  8. Chaosruler

    Member Chaosruler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Tekoa
    Country:
    Israel
    DMA is a different kind of flashing in order to "play" the rom
    GTS is global trade section used by WiFi, it has nothing to do with Akaio, it is a feature in the pokemon games, not in Akaio`s or acekards firmware (unless you recall the wifi compablity of the card)

    Pokemon Platinum (U) should work just fine for you without DMA patching, if it doesn`t use the same version I use and I can promise you no trouble
    I use the version downloaded from www.romulation.net
     

Share This Page