Firmware Downgrader 1.11 mod v1.23

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CubeRaider, Sep 19, 2009.

Sep 19, 2009
  1. CubeRaider
    OP

    Newcomer CubeRaider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
  2. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Firmware Downgrade Mod is better than the original one, and becuase it resolves the '-102' error, it will be a faster system menu region changing.

    I'll upload to the GBAtemp Download Centre soon.
     
  3. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Here's a We Brew Wii mirror: (no registration required)
    HERE

    Enjoy [​IMG]
     
  4. CubeRaider
    OP

    Newcomer CubeRaider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the helpful link!

    Has anyone tried this mod yet? The latest version just came out a couple days ago and I'm not sure how well Attila has been able to test it.
     
  5. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll try that mod soon.
     
  6. CubeRaider
    OP

    Newcomer CubeRaider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent. I was prepping to change my region today, but since any problem with the Firmware Downgrader step will likely cause a brick, I won't mind waiting to hear your results. :-)
     
  7. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, it will brick your Wii if you unplug the AC Adpater of your Wii while installing the system menu. Please don't unplug the Wii AC Apdapter. Other than that, system menu region changing won't brick your Wii.

    So do you have BootMii installed? BootMii is the brick protection for Wii.
     
  8. CubeRaider
    OP

    Newcomer CubeRaider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I have BootMii installed as an IOS, which means I that if I brick my Wii, I need Preloader to access BootMii via HBC, correct? However, installing a new System Menu will overwrite Preloader, hence my concern. :-/

    Hehe, I'll try to remember not to be an idiot by unplugging my Wii during critical steps. :-D
     
  9. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    No, it's not correct.

    *downloads the Firmware Downgrader mod and he's trying out*
     
  10. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I already tested the Firmware Downgrader mod and I can confirm it will not brick your Wii. But please don't unplug the AC Adpater unless you turn off your Wii.

    I'll upload this to the GBAtemp Download Centre soon.
     
  11. CubeRaider
    OP

    Newcomer CubeRaider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, that's good to hear. What part of my understanding is incorrect. How else can I access BootMii (installed as IOS) if my Wii is bricked without Preloader?
     

Share This Page