firmware 3.2e

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rally1, Nov 19, 2008.

Nov 19, 2008

firmware 3.2e by rally1 at 2:20 PM (2,382 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. rally1
    OP

    Newcomer rally1 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how do i go from 3.1e to 3.2e. many thanks
     
  2. Gumba

    Newcomer Gumba Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I want to know this too. I've just sent my Wii to Nintendo. And I'm getting a new Wii in a few days. But I think I have to update it again. Will it update to the newest firmware automatically or does it ask me everytime it's gonna install a newer version? I hope it's the 2nd thing, I've got loads of games here for the backuplauncher, so I hope someone can help me out here.
     
  3. rodolphedj

    Newcomer rodolphedj Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    France
    Just play with Mario Kart and use update from DVD.
     
  4. rally1
    OP

    Newcomer rally1 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my mario kart has 3.1 on it
     
  5. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    anyregion changer allows you to upgrade, just make sure you select YOUR region
     
  6. rally1
    OP

    Newcomer rally1 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    upgrade only seems to be temporary while you config your region then it takes you back to your original firmware
     
  7. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    ok then waninkoko's cIOS downgrader v1.2 allows you to upgrade, again just match up the region to the your region
     
  8. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I use Custom IOS Downgrader.. worked well for me, but I was going down from 3.3

    I can only assume it works from earlier versions to update, but someone else might be able to correct me on this

    *edit*
    BL4Z seems to confirm it [​IMG]
     
  9. FRanatic

    Member FRanatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What I did just yesterday, was installing the ios30 wad and the systemmenu wad with wad installer. Both wads can be obtained by extracting them with wiiscrubber from the recovery disc made by bushing.
    All of those files are easily obtainable on the net after a little search.

    If you decide to use this method, (I used it as I was told it would be one of the safest) make sure you istall the ios first and then the systemmenu.
     
  10. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    huh? [​IMG]
     
  11. FRanatic

    Member FRanatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I understand you didn't quite get my instructions ?

    1) Grab a hold of the recovery disc by bushing. Make sure you get the right one for your region !! There's a link on hackmii.com
    2) Grab a hold of wiiscrubber
    3) Use wiscrubber to extract the ios30.wad and systemmenu.wad from the recovery disc and put them in the WAD folder on the root of a sd card
    4) Start up WadManager
    5) Install ios30.wad with WadManager
    6) Install systemmenu.wad with WadManager
    7) Exit WadManager
    8) Check your version in the system setting menu.
    9) Conclude you are on 3.2e
    10) Congratulate yourself and grab a beer
     
  12. fruitman

    Newcomer fruitman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States


    Awesome [​IMG]
     
  13. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    ok but that seems like a lot to do compared to just running cIOS downgrader v1.2... i mean the only thing you have to be aware of is matching the system menu's region to your wii's region
     
  14. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    It is pointless running a complete system downgrade when all you need to do is install two wads.

    The recovery disc method is much safer (although finding a retail disc with 3.2 on it would probably be the safest).

    Also cIOS downgrader requires an internet connection - installing the wads doesn't.
     
  15. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    very good points *eats words*
     
  16. Josie

    Newcomer Josie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Italy
    I can't find the recovery disc... Can you tell me where is it? I did a search on hackmii.com but just found the recovery dongle post.

    Anyway, does your method leaves my homebrew channell apps there?

    EDIT:
    Found the files on console-scene.info and FRanatic method is PERFECT. thanks now I'm on 3.2e
     
  17. FRanatic

    Member FRanatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    LOL, it's not really my method. I just posted what someone else told me...
    Glad to hear it worked out though.
     

Share This Page