Firmware 1.55 Bricked My Card?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by ChiboSempai, Sep 13, 2009.

Sep 13, 2009
  1. ChiboSempai
    OP

    Newcomer ChiboSempai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so everything was fine with my Cyclo DS, then I downloaded the new firmware 1.55, popped it on my SD, turned on my system, hit Cyclo DS, it loads, then the screen turns black. Nothing happens for a while so I turn off my DS. Now even when I remove the update.evo file it still loads and goes to a black screen and does nothing... Help?
     
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently something went wrong because when it updates the firmware, it deletes the update file. It didn't delete it, so something went bad BEFORE it finished updating. Possibly the contacts between the CycloDS and DS (or the CycloDS and the microSD) need cleaned.

    First off, I'd download the firmware file again just to be sure it is not corrupt.

    Depending on which hardware revision of the CycloDS you have, you can try to force an update with a button combination.

    * Recovery Mode (hold down while booting the CycloDS)
    - HW v1.0 = SELECT
    - HW v1.1 = SELECT or DOWN + B

    Possibly the contacts between the CycloDS and DS (or the CycloDS and the microSD) need cleaned.

    If none of those things work, it is likely your CycloDS has failed.

    Hope something there helps you.
     
  3. isamux

    Member isamux Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Downtown Canada
    Country:
    Japan
    Well it semi bricked mine but don't panic. When I upgraded it only progressed a little on the progress bar then just sat there, so I turned it off and on. It would only get to the loading screen and no further. Depending on the damage done, put the update back onto your card, then hold down B+A+SELECT and START together and turn it on. It should go into recover mode and reflash itself. If that didn't work, try using DOWN+B when turning on.

    Hope this helps you.

    If not, then try asking Cyclo on their forum.

    Good luck.
     
  4. ChiboSempai
    OP

    Newcomer ChiboSempai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    thx for the help everyone, the down + b worked. i think my sd - evo slot was dirty or something. when i did the recovery first it said it couldnt find the file. blew in it, then it found it.
     

Share This Page