Hacking Finding .SAV checksum to allow for editing saves.

NatK98

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
hello, so as the title implies, i need some help finding out how checksums work in NDS games, or at the very least, this one.

I have exported a few saves from the Transformers: AUTOBOTS game, developed by vicarios visions, whilst changing only one value in the settings (Music volume from 7 to 8) to have a look at them and i know for sure there's a checksum because the save comes up as corrupt in-game if i adjust any values without adjusting the checksum.

i'm new to this scene, so i'd appreciate any and all help when it comes to how to figure this out.

in the attached .SAV files, i changed the music volume from 7 to 8 then to 9 in game.
AUTOBOTS.0 is the 7, AUTOBOTS.1 is the 8 and AUTOBOTS.2 is 9 volume.

I should add that this save contains two files, one profile name is NATHAN and the second is THTKKKK (You can thank my cat for that)
it's just how the game works. Even making a new game, it still has those two spots, they are just called "New Game" instead.

these saves were all exported using TWL save tool.

I just can't find any information on how one would be able to edit NDS saves, because of these checksums. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

https://file.io/yX2Mj566sJ3y

Last edited by NatK98,

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
There is no BIOS/firmware level checksum, and no SDK provided one (at least not one used often) which means the DS is probably the last of the "whatever the dev decided to cook up that day" approaches, with the added bonus of there being just about enough CPU power underneath it all to occasionally do something quite involved (though this is rare outside of things like the browser where you need proper hashing).

Your job is to figure out three things as the would be save hacker, though there is a cowboy method that works for some things people want to do.