With help (thanx Rydian) my computer is faster and the DVD-rom admits that it is a DVD-rom. The computer still has issue but I think that I have pinpointed a problem. I think that there are tasks which the Administrator can only do when file sharing is turned off. I am planning to turn off file sharing but I only want this to be temporary. I want to be able to have multiple power accounts and I want to have a folder of shared files available on the network. My question is two fold. #1 Is it possible - that the reason why system files such as msconfig change back to read only after I uncheck the read only - is due to file sharing and that removing the file sharing will let the "Administrator" account own the system files and allow the "Administrator" to remove the read only and in particular change msconfig to do a clean boot? #2 Will I be able to change back to shared files afterward?