EZ-FLASH OMEGA test flight

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by EZ-Flash2, Apr 18, 2018.

  1. Searinox

    Searinox Dances with Dragons

    Member
    6
    Dec 16, 2007
    Romania
    Bucharest
    GBC emulation is one example where emulator updates would be good. Can't get Pokemon Prism or Crystal to save and in particular Crystal has very corrupt graphics.
     
    robofinch and mitch200584 like this.
  2. bola1717

    bola1717 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 10, 2018
    Netherlands Antilles
    Maybe its possible to simply replace the "goomba" File I wonder
     
  3. Sterophonick

    Sterophonick Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 17, 2018
    United States
    My Laptop XD
    How come the Addon only works for Commercial Games?
     
  4. CoupureElectrique

    CoupureElectrique Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 20, 2018
    Canada
    Can’t play Pac Man World, Pac Man World 2 and Ms Pac Man Maze Madness (no intro, USA) when booting with addons but they work fine doing clean boots, Is this normal?
     
    Last edited by CoupureElectrique, Oct 13, 2018
  5. PsxFan107

    PsxFan107 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 27, 2017
    United States
    Write to NOR Addon is not working for a good number of 32MB games. I tried with a clean pokemon mystery dungeon rom and it gets stuck at 255mb. Everything < 32MB works fine though. Also, said rom works perfectly through PSRAM. Super Monkey Ball Jr. is among those games that won't boot with addon.

    I am using an AGS-001 and the latest FW+Kernel.
     
  6. Searinox

    Searinox Dances with Dragons

    Member
    6
    Dec 16, 2007
    Romania
    Bucharest
    I could suggest you try a tool like GBATA to trim the ROM and see if it writes then.
     
    Romain80200 likes this.
  7. robofinch

    robofinch Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 9, 2018
    United States
    Funny enough, this is exactly what brought me to this thread looking for answers. Crystal's graphics are a mess and saving on Prism is a pain, but has anyone found a way to fix Prism's crazy RTC?
     
  8. JosephNeale

    JosephNeale GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Oct 30, 2011
    United Kingdom
    Wirral, England, UK
    every time I boot Pokemon Omega red rom hack it comes up with a message say the file overflow and let me know if there is a fix for this issue
     
    Last edited by JosephNeale, Nov 9, 2018
  9. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    9
    Jul 17, 2014
    Germany
    Nintendo works for my dad
    That's an issue with the ROM. ROMs can only be a maximum of 256Mbit (32Mbyte) in size. The ROM of the hack is 32,783KB in size, slightly over the limit of 32,768.

    The ROM hack is too big to be played on the EZFlash Omega as it exceeds the boundary limits of what the GBA hardware can address - The ROM hack will only work on emulators unless the authors of the hack are able to reduce the size by 15KB.

    EDIT: It seems as if the ROM is not intended to be larger than 32,768KB, most of the file is FF padded at the end. You can simply try removing the last 15KB of garbage data from the ROM to make it fit the 32Mbyte boundary. Maybe a ROM Trimmer can do that job automatically.
    omegared.
     
    Last edited by Localhorst86, Nov 9, 2018
  10. JosephNeale

    JosephNeale GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Oct 30, 2011
    United Kingdom
    Wirral, England, UK
    thanks for the info and trimming the rom with NDSTokyoTrim 3.1 fixed the issue thanks for the tip
     
  11. pasc

    pasc GBATemps GBA Freak

    Member
    5
    Sep 9, 2006
    Germany
    Germany
    Would be nice if the EZO could allow us to choose between
    "Clean boot"
    "Boot with addon"

    as default selection.
     
    Searinox likes this.
  12. DpM

    DpM Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 25, 2015
    Hi all, just got an Omega today, I have updated the Kernel and copied one ROM to the SD card in a GBA folder I created. It was formatted as instructed on the manual as its a 32GB card
    "card size ≤ 128 GB exFAT 32KB or Larger"

    Issue is I can see the folders, IMG, CHEAT etc but the ROM file does not show up.
    Am I missing a trick? the GBA I am using is an European AGB-001.

    Thanks
     
  13. kuwanger

    kuwanger GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    8
    Jul 26, 2006
    United States
    I've had issues with the archive flag being set/unset depending on the filesystem determines if it's shown or not. :/ You can find that under properties for Windows and see if that helps.

    Edit - Just to sort of verify my suspicions, here's the code for adding stuff to the file list. Apparently it'll only add directories with attribute directory or directory and archive and only add files with attribute archive. Any other attribute (read only, hidden, system, not archive files, etc) will apparently cause things to not be listed. Not sure why I remember exfat seeming to add opposite to fat32 with files. Maybe they were read-only and I flipped that attribute too? *shrug*
     
    Last edited by kuwanger, Jan 8, 2019
  14. DpM

    DpM Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 25, 2015
    Excellent, that worked thanks @kuwanger, now I need to find or create a script to amend the attributes on all the files rather than doing it one by one.
     
  15. commdante

    commdante GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    Jun 4, 2006
    Netherlands
    For all files in a directory, use in CMD / Terminal:
    x:\GBA> attrib +A *.*

    to add the Archive atribute to all * files with all .* extensions, or:

    x:\GBA> attrib +A *.gba

    to add the Archive atribute to all * files with all the .gba extension
     
    DpM likes this.
  16. DpM

    DpM Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 25, 2015
Loading...