EZ-FLASH III Help (With screenshots)

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by Spekkio198, Feb 17, 2010.

Feb 17, 2010
  1. Spekkio198
    OP

    Newcomer Spekkio198 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    First off, I'm sorry for asking, i'm sure you get these kind of questions all the time. I'm stuck on my EZ-FLASH III, and i need help.
    I finally got the USB Driver working, and i let the device warm up for 8 hours like it's recommended. As soon as the program boots up, it asks to download the newest driver, and it freezes on this screen:

    http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc216/C...ng?t=1266432537

    So, then i skip it. I Click on the 2 GB tab (Which, i'm pretty sure is my 2 GB Flash card) and it asks to format it. I let it (And you can see what i put in the background) and it freezes at a certain point:

    http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc216/C...ng?t=1266432775

    I will answer any questions you have for me. Thank you!
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Your problem is that the drivers don't work properly in Vista or Windows 7, and it doesn't work period under x64 versions. You need to run it under XP.

    If this is under XP, and your dualbooting. You might have to run ezcheck to see if the NAND went bad.

    Here is the link to the tool if you don't already have it:
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=531
     
  3. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never had a problem running EZManager under Vista 32.
     
  4. Spekkio198
    OP

    Newcomer Spekkio198 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to format the flash cart on both XP mode on my Windows 7 computer and an actual XP computer, and it yielded the same results. I ran the program you suggested on both computers, and each time it gave me this:
    http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc216/C...pg?t=1266451446
     
  5. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Things to try:

    Cleaning the contacts with rubbing alcohol

    Using a different USB port (without a hub)

    Using a different USB cable

    An older version of EZManager (2.20, 2.10 -- possibly 2.08*)

    *There are two different types of flash chips used in the EZ3. Hynix chips had some problems with earlier EZManagers (before 2.10) but your problem could be related to that.
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    EZ3check working is a good sign.

    If you tried downloading it probably hosed up the download and so the necessary files (that was the loader that it updates). If you only want it for GBA you can probably go back to 2.08 as everything after that was aimed at the DS (if you want it for DS I suggest you try another cart).

    Edit: I seem to be so bad at posting before others reply with the same info this evening, see cracker's post as well.
     
  7. Spekkio198
    OP

    Newcomer Spekkio198 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Can you give me some links to the old EZManager, please?
     
  8. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    You can find all of the EZManager versions here.
     
  9. Spekkio198
    OP

    Newcomer Spekkio198 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I got a new cable and i tried to run 2.20, 2.10, and 2.08 on my Windows 7 computer and my XP computer. It yielded the same results, but 2.08 freezed at a different place, if any of you are interested:

    http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc216/C...ng?t=1266548601

    I installed the first version of each program on cracker's list (Without the "72ip" or anything,) i don't know if this would make any difference.

    Could there have been anything basic i might have needed at this point, but forgot to do?
     
  10. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Since you have went through all of the variables it comes down to either a problem with the linker or the cart itself unfortunately. Did you just buy it recently?

    I wish there was a program that could be flashed as the loader and would format the NAND from your GBA/DS...
     
  11. Spekkio198
    OP

    Newcomer Spekkio198 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, your right, of course. I bought it about a year ago, but it had the same problems.
     
  12. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... Damn, a year ago is way outside the vendor's replacement (if it was a major vendor)...
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Were you using it on the same computer last year too?

    If you got a Nforce motherboard, they have been known to cause problems for other driver based flashcarts.

    If you don't have a Nforce board, you just might be screwed with a defective EZ-III or writer like cracker said.
     
  14. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if you didn't see the PM. I made a tool to get the ID of the cart so hopefully it help in finding a solution to getting your cart and others' working. Rename the loader_GBA.bin in sysbin and copy this loader_GBA.bin and then write the EZ3 loader in EZManager.
     
  15. Tac 21

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    did crackers loader GBA bin ever work?
     

Share This Page