extracting oot 3d roms & oot n64 roms.

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by ochtendjas, Jun 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jun 20, 2011
  1. ochtendjas
    OP

    Newcomer ochtendjas Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    (i did bought these two games and downloaded the rom so its not illegal)
    hey, i bought myself a new mobile phone called the sony erricsson xperia play, a slide out phone that gives you a playstation controller.
    in addidtion to regular xperia play games you can also play on emulators. there is a N64 emulator, and its cool to play Oot on it, but i want the 3ds textures and models.(not 3d of course, and i just want the HUD to be at the screen , no sheika stones or stuff just the textures and the models)to do this, i would like to know how the extract those roms and replace the textures and models. (im not asking anybody for roms, just how to extract and replace) thx!
     


  2. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Not gonna happen. You cant do that for obvious reasons.
     
  3. ochtendjas
    OP

    Newcomer ochtendjas Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    why not?
     
  4. Jockel

    Member Jockel Tagging yourself? This shit ain't NeoGAF.

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Obvious reasons.
     
  5. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,239
    Country:
    United States
    the game is a remake not emulated there isn't going to be a rom in there.
     
  6. ochtendjas
    OP

    Newcomer ochtendjas Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    come on , please explain. and if you are not able , can you make your own with like unity 3d or some?(im realy a noob lol)
     
  7. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Because:

    1) You can't extract and unpack a 3DS rom. There are simply no tools available. Nothing newsworthy has been accomplished yet regarding 3DS hacking.

    2) Doubt that an N64 emulator can handle textures from a next-gen game.
     
  8. ochtendjas
    OP

    Newcomer ochtendjas Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    okey, but if 3ds rom extracting tools get availbe, can you replace the textures to the gamecube oot bonus disc rom? a gamecube can handle it i hope.
     
  9. cosmiccow

    Member cosmiccow Original Hippie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    Germany
    You have to get a device to dump 3DS roms which is not publicly available yet.
    Then you have to decrypt the roms (not known if a way has been found to do this yet).

    After you have managed both, a whole bunch of game/format specific problems appear.

    And then the N64 emulator might be able to handle the better textures, but maybe not.

    /thread
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Texture are gonna be in a different format, and the N64 can't support them natively (they're too big for the hardware).

    You'd need an emulator with a GFX plugin supporting High-res Texture Packs. Which to my knowledge has happened only on the PC.

    So, no, it's not gonna happen.
     
  11. ochtendjas
    OP

    Newcomer ochtendjas Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    as i said , there is an oot bonus disc for the gamecube wich i have. you can download the rom for that to. but the gamecube version still has the same graphics as the n64 version. as the gamecube can handle better graphics than the n64, can you upgrade the gamecube rom?
     
  12. Apache Thunder

    Member Apache Thunder I have cameras in your head!

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,815
    Location:
    Levelland, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    No you can't. The "emulator" for the gamecube was not designed to accept higher spec textures. Plus the fact the game engine the rom uses would need to be overhauled to work correctly with high res images.

    The OOT game for the 3DS doesn't have just better textures, it also has better 3D models and stuff which would also not work correctly in any normal emulator that's available.

    Unless you have the know how to make your own emulator and/or port of the game to run with the gamecube/Wii, just drop it already because nobody has done this and you won't find it anywhere!
     
  13. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    EDIT : nevermind
     
  14. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Just so you know, the rom on the GC OoT is NOT the same exact thing as the N64 rom.

    it was touched up a bit, and modified to run on the GC smoother, clearer, and smexier. Also, it has a slightly better framerate due to the emulator taking advantage of the GC's hardware.

    And NO, you cannot play the 3DS version on anything but the 3DS.
     
  15. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    lol some people just don't get it
    love it how he's trying not to seem like he's pirating

    really n64 emulator on sonys phone.
    strange how it was banned and removed before your phone is out
    guess your full of bull lol and downloaded a illegal apk

    planning to mod a 3ds game which if you read a 3ds agreement its not allowed to modify the game data

    let's report him to Nintendo guys
     
  16. bladepwnedyou

    Member bladepwnedyou GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Vermont
    Country:
    United States
    You bought it for the 3ds, why go through all that trouble when you have a perfectly good handheld version which is 10x better than the original?
    AND on top of that you have an even better version of masterquest all built up in there whenever you finish playing through once.

    My opinion, it looks sexy enough as in on the 3ds, trying to move it to the television just sounds like more effort than its worth, stick to the old graphic for the television and if you really like the new graphics then stick to your 3ds.
     
  17. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    frequent gbatemp's 3ds section for about 2 months and you'll understand what can be done, and what cant.
     
  18. Antoids

    Newcomer Antoids Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    oh man this thread

    you clearly haven't even played oot 3ds, it's not a simple texture pack, the game is completely rebuilt from the ground up. the maps are rebuilt, not imported. the engine is rebuilt, not imported. this is clear cuz a lot of old speedrun tricks are different (though, funnily enough, usually easier on the new version)

    you don't need to pretend you're not a pirate, people will help you just the same

    anyway there's roughly a 0% chance of this working on any extant emulator, it's not a .nds and it's not a .z64 and it's not a .gcm

    i can't believe there are actually people who think you can just put roms from one system onto another lol
     
  19. TCJJ

    Member TCJJ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Geez, this has to be one of the most retarded things I've seen in a while. It's funny though. IT CANNOT BE DONE. If you HAVE to play the original on a big screen with better textures, get the Project64 emulator, get a copy of the Ocarina of Time ROM (which you seem to already have), get the high-quality texture plugin, and hook your PC up to your TV (I don't want to see any questions about how to do THIS).

    I also love the whole anti-piracy thing. Ocarina of Time 3D is NOT Ocarina of Time for the N64. You're allowed to make a legal backup yourself, which does not include downloading a copy, and having the 3DS version does not mean you are entitled to a copy of the N64 version. Same game? Pretty much. But not entirely. Man, it's really not that complicated. Then again, no one really cares about piracy here, as long as you're not posting illegal links for things such as ROMs.

    Just on a side-note though, it seems the Gamecube disc has the games stored as ROMs, because as far as I know, that's the only way you could previously get Master Quest, and I found a working .n64 ROM of Master Quest, so I presume it was ripped from the disc. That's pretty impressive. Dunno if it'd work on the Nintendo 64 with a flash cart. Doubtful, I guess, if it truly has a slight touch-up from the N64 copy, so that it's better for Gamecube.
     
  20. ManFranceGermany

    Member ManFranceGermany Atheist, Socialist and pro EU!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Germany
    really a stupid question, on par with "can i play 3DS Roms on my DS".
    Its not even possible to play 3DS ROMs on a 3DS, so how can you even imagine, that its possible to hack the ROM for textures?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page