Expansion in 3in1, game doesn't recognize it.

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Inunah, Jan 20, 2010.

Jan 20, 2010
  1. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    How do I enable expansion pack support for Daigasso! Band Brothers? I've got the expansion's .gba file in the NOR and everything.....
     
  2. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I know it's because the DS thinks it's a regular GBA game..... [​IMG]
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I am not aware of any NDS-GBA game link with Daigasso band brothers. Are you trying to use the rumble feature on the 3in1?

    If it is the rumble feature, your suppose to set the rumble mode on first and rumble level before playing DBB.
     
  4. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    The Wikipedia Article on this game says that it had an expansion pack released. It's not a rumble feature. It's an honest to god expansion cart that takes advantage of the NDS-GBA linking. It's not a separate game... Yet when it's in the NOR and I look at it through the regular NDS menu it thinks it's a regular game instead of it thinking it's something else, like it thinks the extra whatsit that goes with Guitar Hero DS is. I've downloaded that expansion pack (it's a .gba file) and i've named it the exact same as the .nds file, yet it doesn't think anything's there.

    You think I need to patch the .nds file with the patch that allows Pokemon's NDS-GBA linking?
     
  5. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It would be the same LIKE the NDS pokemon games, the NDS would have to be patched for detecting the 3in1.
     
  6. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    So try the Pokemon Diamond/Pearl patch on it, but keep a backup just in case? [​IMG]


    I should have known there would be a problem with that..... Cause Pokemans and NDS Browser both had needed patches.... I really should've tried that first..... :\
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, you will have to modify the offsets for the game, but most of second part of the codes should be the same.

    You can look at the cheat db xml file and see if you can transplant the 3in1 detection codes over from platinum or whatever.
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The only reason a DS game would ever have to be patched to detect a GBA game in NOR is if the DS game tries to access the GBA game's save memory AND the GBA game uses a flash or EEPROM save type. This is what the Pokemon Diamond/Pearl patch did; it patched the DS game to read the save from SRAM instead of flash.

    Does NDSGBA linking work with other games? What slot 1 flashcart are you using?
     
  9. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using an R4 with some version of YSmenu and GBA ExpLoader .something 5b And I don't use NDS - GBA linking for anything... I'd only use it for this...

    This expansion pack can't be played on its own, therefore it doesn't have a save file. In fact, it doesn't even save!!! I think Daigasso just has the extra stuff as long as the expansion pack is in the slot-2.

    So what exactly do I do to transplant 3in1 detection codes? I don't exactly know how that's done...... [​IMG]
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There are no 3-in-1 detection codes, at least not for this purpose. The game in NOR looks just like a regular game pak to the DS game, so as long as the expansion pack is flashed to NOR the DS game should see it. At least that's how it works with other DS games that check for GBA games to link with.

    One of two things is happening here. Either the game linking isn't working at all, which is why I asked if it works with other games, or the Daigasso expansion doesn't behave like a regular GBA game and the regular game linking methods won't work.
     
  11. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You will need the XML file:
    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/files/12_08_09_CHEATS.XML.zip


    If your looking at the XML file through a text editor
    CODEÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPokemon Migration Codes
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ1
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPokemon Diamond US gameid:ADAE 636791C0
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂEZ 3in1 Migration+Dongle method enable
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ94000136 00000000 020DC50C E3A000C2 020DC500 E3A00009 E20DC5A8 00000020 E1A00000 E3500000 03A01010 13A01020 E3A02527 E1C210B0 E12FFF1E E1A00000 DA000000 04000204 D7000000 00000000 D3000000 00000000 14000204 00006800 19FE0000 0000D200 18000000 00001500 18020000 0000D200 18040000 00001500 DA000000 00000000 D7000000 04000204
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂEZ 3in1 Dongle method only enable
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ020DC50C E3A000C2 020DC500 E3A00009
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPokemon Platinum US gameid:CPUE D074D1B3
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂEZ 3in1 Migration+Dongle method enable
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ94000136 00000000 020D1564 E3A000C2 020D1558 E3A00009 E20D14B8 00000020 E1A00000 E3500000 03A01010 13A01020 E3A02527 E1C210B0 E12FFF1E E1A00000 DA000000 04000204 D7000000 00000000 D3000000 00000000 14000204 00006800 19FE0000 0000D200 18000000 00001500 18020000 0000D200 18040000 00001500 DA000000 00000000 D7000000 04000204
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂEZ 3in1 Dongle method only enable
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ020D1564 E3A000C2 020D1558 E3A00009
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ

    After looking at the migration codes, the address will be different with the Daigasso game. You should be using the cheat editor to work on these.

    You want to look here for any help on the cheat editor:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=95774

    You should be asking there to find the correct offsets and codes to put in. You might only need to modify the "EZ 3in1 Dongle method only enable" codes to get it working.

    Otherwise you should be reading the howto guide on making cheats here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=116242
     
  12. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't behave like a regular game. It's supposed to show up in the regular DS menu exactly as a Guitar Grip shows up. You're not supposed to be able to play it..... But for some reason you can, but it boots a white screen just like Rayman Advance and Riviera: The Promised Land does when I try to boot them in every way possible.


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I also have no clue how to use a cheat code editor or that other thing.... In fact, the second thing is so complex I don't understand the instructions.
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You got 2 choices then.

    A. Get someone to make the cheats you need.
    B. Get use to not using the expansion pack.
     
  14. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    A sounds fine, but noone would make the cheat for me.
    And B is not an option for me. [​IMG]
     
  15. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  16. Inunah
    OP

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page