EXE on Puppy Linux

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by JinTrigger, Mar 5, 2009.

Mar 5, 2009

EXE on Puppy Linux by JinTrigger at 3:45 AM (4,528 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I had a viral attack on my computer and I've been using puppy linux. I kind of like it and its pretty sweet. I might actually use it for good. I just love the look and feel of it is all, but I can't run my .exe files from windows. How do I do this. I downloaded wine and it isn't working so could someone gie me step by step on how to accomplish this
     
  2. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
  3. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    I did all that and it is not working
     
  4. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Life is cruel..

    I checked out the guide, it should work. Try giving some more info as to why stuff itsn't working for you. Maybe someone out here also uses puppy linux who can help? One thing I can think of is that your windows apps are not installed (in the program files dir) for your Wine installation.
     
  5. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you could try one of the "make wine easier" things like WINEdoors.

    other than that, a lot of exes just won't run on wine, so I would recommend just finding a viable alternative to the program you want. the are many.
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,727
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a fairly hard time getting WINE running on puppy linux but OK. I assume you are running a stock version rather than a puplet (some of them already have wine)

    The way I did it.
    Wine is technically not based on slackware linux but it retains a close enough link to use programs, note while you can do this I do not suggest it for graphical apps or ones you want on the start menu unless you want to add it yourself and if you can do that you might as well compile it yourself. "invisible stuff" like WINE is OK though.
    Wine in slackware form from the wine sourceforge page:
    http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.p...package_id=6301

    Note I only suggest this over the actual puppy linux builds as they take a while to update and wine is really one of those things you want the updates for.

    You need to convert them, you use the tgz2pet command. Note this is designed for slackware tgz files, "normal" tgz files are unlikely to do anything with this.
    This will make a pet file (the puppy linux package) that you can install, it will probably say something about lacking libraries but it should still work.

    Next up comes getting wine to activate.
    The way you are supposed to do it is to launch a command line (the ` button, next to the 1/! button on the keyboard gets you one)
    The you type
    wine somefile.exe
    where somefile.exe is the file you way. Remember the autocomplete function of linux command line when you are using this (the tab button)

    You can also make it so exe files will autolaunch with wine. Know however that doing this will block the info the command line may give you which can help with bugfixing (long story short WINE is an implementation of the windows API that is to say functions that windows allows a computer to perform are copied by WINE, they are not copied perfectly however and many times you can boost compatibility by giving the program some actual windows files rather than relying on what WINE can do, not command line means not knowledge of what might have gone wrong), of course you can still launch with the command line for such situations.
    I forget the exact steps but you can add it wherever you choose what puppy linux does with a given file type (simply put wine in the first part of the command line section)

    As you came from a virus laden machine know that doing it the latter way along with the every user is root feature of puppy linux is not all that secure, probably still more secure than basic windows but far from ideal.
     
  7. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
  8. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    OSX was MADE for people like you

    Buy a mac.
     
  9. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    ok i read your instruction more carefully but when i run a .exe in wine......it always trys to find it in windows\system32\ folder instead of the progrom file like everyone says......so to text it I dragged all the files to the system32 and tried to open it but of course i done want to have to do that
     
  10. El Blacksheep

    Member El Blacksheep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Southern California
    Country:
    United States
    Have I got news for you...
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  11. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    ok ok I think I got some of this......I understand you must install the programs. I tried out winrar. I put the installer in system32 and it install in drive C\program folder and the installer automatically open winrar and it works..but when I close it out how do I reopen it
     
  12. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    why do you want to install winrar?
     
  13. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    exactly. file roller can extract rar files, not sure if you need to install a rar support pack age or not, just search your package manager
     
  14. Taza

    Member Taza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Finland
    File roller? How about some bad advice.

    Install rar and unrar, to get RAR support for everything, well, that can look for it.
     
  15. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh? why is that such bad advice? it is the default in ubuntu and has uncompressed pretty much every file I have ever needed uncompressing. (except one archaic apple .sit file, but those are a pain on winblows)
     
  16. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    Well I never knew of this file roller you speak of and I've figured this out. I just open Winefile in the command thingy and look for the .exe I want to open. Thanks for your help
     

Share This Page