Epoclick virus.

stinkoman

Magnificent Bastard
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
1,227
Trophies
1
Location
Hell.
XP
555
Country
United States
Feel like I wasted this whole weekend. Got some horridly made virus that redirects you to some site called epoclick.com every few minutes. Really annoying. I spent the whole weekend only to find out it's a weakness in Linksys routers that you can fix in minutes. If anyone else has it I'll write something up to get rid of it.
 

gkatz

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
0
Trophies
0
XP
0
Country
United States
hey i didnt think of this epoclick as a virus, until i realized it was popping up when i searched common websites i use everyday..

could you please write up a guide could really use help getting rid of this.

thanks
 

Forstride

The rudder moves when I turn the wheel
Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
2,761
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Website
forstride.stormbit.net
XP
1,036
Country
United States
gkatz said:
hey i didnt think of this epoclick as a virus, until i realized it was popping up when i searched common websites i use everyday..

could you please write up a guide could really use help getting rid of this.

thanks
Something tells me this person isn't actually looking for a guide. I bet they're the creator of the virus and need to know how to fix it so they can make it immune to whatever method you used.
 

lythande

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
0
Trophies
0
XP
0
Country
United States
chao1212,

I've had the Epoclick virus for weeks now, and it's driving me crazy.
angry.gif


If you can tell me how to get rid of it, I'd be extremely happy.

If you don't want to post on here, I can give you an email address.

Thanks,

Lythande
 

antwill

Better Than You
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
1,023
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
166
Country
TDWP FTW said:
gkatz said:
hey i didnt think of this epoclick as a virus, until i realized it was popping up when i searched common websites i use everyday..

could you please write up a guide could really use help getting rid of this.

thanks
Something tells me this person isn't actually looking for a guide. I bet they're the creator of the virus and need to know how to fix it so they can make it immune to whatever method you used.
Makes sense, he does have 0 posts...
ohnoes.png
 

lythande

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
0
Trophies
0
XP
0
Country
United States
I'm not sure how I got it. It was kind of subtle -- I get random popups once in a while, so at first I just thought that's what was going on. But then I noticed that it was happening multiple times whenever I was using my browser.

From what I can tell, general consensus seems to be that it's a router hijacker.

Lythande
 

xmrnogatcox

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
134
Country
United States
I'll bet you it's the same style of virus that Results5 was.

It attacks your router and spoofs your Primary and Secondary DNS servers to another address. All you have to do to clean it up is change your DNS addresses back to their original (in your router config page), ipconfig /release, ipconfig /flushdns, and then finally ipconfig /renew.

For a while, we had it at work and nobody knew how to stop it. Some of my co-workers even did a few O/S reinstalls, to no avail.

I figured it out while messing with the router settings.
 

JulieM

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
0
Trophies
0
XP
0
Country
United States
Hello - Microsoft gave me the following instructions to get rid of epoclick. They work!

Step 1: Reset Proxy

===========================

Reset Proxy for LAN

======

1. Click Start, click Run, type "inetcpl.cpl" (without quotation marks) in the Open box, and then click OK.

2. Click the Connections tab.

3. Click "LAN Settings" under "Local Area Network (LAN) settings".

4. Uncheck "Automatically detect settings" and "Use a proxy server for your LAN" if the two options are selected.



Reset Proxy for Dial-up or VPN

======

1. Open "Internet Explorer".

2. In the "Tools" menu, select "Internet Options".

3. Click on the "Connections" tab.

4. In "Dial-up and Virtual Private Network settings" area, is there any connection listed? If so, please highlight it, and click "Settings" button.

5. In the proxy settings area, please click on the "Advanced" button, and delete any entry in the "Exceptions" section.

6. Click "OK", and return to the previous window. Clear the proxy server address, and uncheck the option "Use a proxy server for this connection".

7. Quit "Internet Explorer".



Step 2: Rename the Hosts file

==========================

The Hosts file is used for host name resolution. If this file has been modified, we cannot access the Windows Update site properly and can receive the error code.



1. Click Start, Run, type "%SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc" (Without the quotation) and then press Enter.

2. Right-click on the file "Hosts" (without quotations) and choose "Rename"

3. Rename the file to "hostsold" (without quotations)



4. Then, clear the DNS (Domain Name Resolution) cache:



1). Click "Start", "Run", type "cmd" (Without the quotation) and press Enter.

2). In the opened window, type: "ipconfig /flushdns" (Without quotations) and press Enter.



Note: The hosts file will be generated automatically after being removed.



Step 3: Change to Another DNS Address

===============================

1. Click "Start", and click "Control Panel".

2. Open "Network Connection".

3. Right click on "Local Area Connection" and select "Properties".

4. Highlight "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)" and click "Properties".

5. A popup window titled "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP Properties)" will open. Please select "Use the following DNS server address."

6. Set the IP Address for "Preferred DNS Server" to 4.2.2.2 and "Alternate DNS Server" to 4.2.2.3



Step 4: Reset IE and register IE components

=======================

Note1: The following steps will remove all of installed add-ons, passwords, etc. and reset IE to default settings. We need to reinstall the add-ons after resetting.



Note2: The steps are for IE 7&8. If you are using IE6, please feel free to let me know.



1. Click "Start", click "Run", please type "inetcpl.cpl" (without quotation marks) and press "Enter" to open the Internet options window.

2. Switch to the "Advanced" tab.

3. Click "Reset…" . In the open window, check "Delete personal settings" and click "Reset" to confirm the operation.

4. Click "Close" when the resetting process is complete.

5. Launch "Internet options" window and switch to the "Advanced" tab again.

6. Uncheck the "Enable third-party browser extensions" option in the Browsing.

7. Switch to the "General" tab, and click "Use Blank" under the Home page area.

8. Click "Apply" and “OK".

9. Close the Internet Explorer window.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: I was born on Mars, but my parents were from Venus, we moved here to earth when I was 100...