Android Emulators pulled from market, now what?

ferdi-t

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Location
Groningen
Website
ferdi-t.hyves.nl
XP
260
Country
Netherlands
Lately I have been contemplating buying an Xperia Play for emulator purposes. Today I learned that the emulators were pulled from the app store:

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/news/2011/0...roid-market.ars

Now, I'm wondering the following. Does this mean that my hopes for emulating (mainly snes, N64 and mame) are reduced to zero, or are there other options?

Oh, and I'm not afraid to softmod.
smile.gif
 

TehSkull

Living the life
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
2,700
Trophies
0
Location
Louisiana
XP
659
Country
United States
As far as I'm aware they're still available for free in the SlideMe market. If not, check one of the less legal places which we probably shouldn't link you to.
 

Quietlyawesome94

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
1,149
Trophies
0
Location
The Internet
XP
549
Country
United States
*FACEPALM* just because the emulator isn't in the fricken top 20 apps doesn't mean its the only "good emulator". I found a great alternative for each of pulled emulators (I didn't use them to begin with).

Snes9x EX

Tiger SNES Emulator

Tiger GBA

And If you really want the pulled emulators, the developer is offering them for free on SLIDEme.

All Pulled Emulators for Free

You can also get a free psx emulator from here
 

Terminator02

ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
4,516
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere near monkat
XP
1,002
Country
United States
i posted this is news recently, use the link the guy above me posted "All Pulled Emulators For Free"

Snailface said:
I think emulators are available for free outside of the android store. And I don't think it's necessary to softmod the Android-powered Xperia play, it's open source.

Correct me if I'm wrong, somebody. I don't own an Experia Play.
android is open source, i assume that you mean that the Xperia play has an unlocked bootloader, which is only true on the GSM models that are unlocked (not bought through a carrier), this makes it easy to root and mess around with, meanwhile i haven't seen any way to root the verizon Xperia Play and i don't think any of the locked GSM models have been cracked yet (unless some of the universal rooting applications work on them, i know they don't on the verizon model)
 

Quietlyawesome94

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
1,149
Trophies
0
Location
The Internet
XP
549
Country
United States
Terminator02 said:
i posted this is news recently, use the link the guy above me posted "All Pulled Emulators For Free"

Snailface said:
I think emulators are available for free outside of the android store. And I don't think it's necessary to softmod the Android-powered Xperia play, it's open source.

Correct me if I'm wrong, somebody. I don't own an Experia Play.
android is open source, i assume that you mean that the Xperia play has an unlocked bootloader, which is only true on the GSM models that are unlocked (not bought through a carrier), this makes it easy to root and mess around with, meanwhile i haven't seen any way to root the verizon Xperia Play and i don't think any of the locked GSM models have been cracked yet (unless some of the universal rooting applications work on them, i know they don't on the verizon model)

Root for xperia play
 

Terminator02

ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
4,516
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere near monkat
XP
1,002
Country
United States
did you read my post? when you try to do it on the verizon Xperia Play the unlock site says it doesn't support CDMA, and it doesn't worked on any phone that the carrier locked (if they did) over in Europe either

QUOTE said:
It is currently not possible unlock the boot loader for CDMA phones.
 

Quietlyawesome94

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
1,149
Trophies
0
Location
The Internet
XP
549
Country
United States
Terminator02 said:
did you read my post, when you try to do it on the verizon Xperia Play the unlock site says it doesn't support CDMA, and it doesn't worked on any phone that the carrier locked (if they did) over in Europe either

QUOTE said:
It is currently not possible unlock the boot loader for CDMA phones.

Sorry about that. Overlooked it...
ph34r.gif
 

ferdi-t

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Location
Groningen
Website
ferdi-t.hyves.nl
XP
260
Country
Netherlands
Thank you guys for answering. I guess that, because the machine is partially made by Sony, I autimatically assumed software would be restricted just like PSP and IOS. From reading your posts I realize I was wrong in that.

It's awesome too, that they released a gamethingy which is unlocked and ready to rock everything right out of the box. It's a tweaker's dream come true.
 

YayMii

hi
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
4,916
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
that place
XP
728
Country
Canada
For the emulators, just get them off of SlideME, that way you get them free, and get their updates free without having to look for updated APKs online.

I have an Xperia Play (well, not at the moment), and I have to say, my only gripes with it are the touch pads. I haven't found any emulators released that support them, and the games that do support them treat them like touchscreen controls instead of thumbsticks (as in, you have to continuously swipe them instead of holding the edge of the touch pad). But that was probably done for a reason, since Minecraft will utilize the touchpad in the same way.
(I also dislike the fact that the touchscreen only supports 4 fingers, so no Tap Tap multiplayer, but at least it's actually multitouch, unlike some other Android phones)
 

ferdi-t

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Location
Groningen
Website
ferdi-t.hyves.nl
XP
260
Country
Netherlands
Too bad about the touch pads indeed: they would make N64 gaming so much better. But I kinda expect future updates on the emulators to fix this. These emulators are open source, right?
 

Terminator02

ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
4,516
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere near monkat
XP
1,002
Country
United States
there definitely are games out there that use the pads like analog sticks, guerrila bob, gun bros. and i'm sure there are other, with plenty more coming, it's up to the developer to decide how to use them

btw, the arrows and i believe all of the shape buttons (maybe just X & O) work with the standard gingerbread sdk, however the touchpads (and i think the bumpers too) require that you employed the xperia play's development kit

also, check out backstab, one of the highest quality games out right now, although the cut-scenes are awkward as hell
 

jesterscourt

Not Brad.
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
2,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,024
Country
United States
Yongzh's Emulators were pulled from the official Android Marketplace, but you can still sideload them by enabling non-Market applications to be installed.

They are currently being hosted on Slideme.org
 

Terminator02

ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
4,516
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere near monkat
XP
1,002
Country
United States
jceggbert5 said:
Nesoid and some of the other emulators seem to have been nearly identically cloned (rebuilt with different credits and other small details?) by DigiApps
https://market.android.com/developer?pub=DigiApps
that's interesting, i wonder if yongzh is behind this, just trying to get back on the market, or if someone just went ahead and uploaded them for free

QUOTE(jesterscourt @ Jun 5 2011, 10:18 PM) Yongzh's Emulators were pulled from the official Android Marketplace, but you can still sideload them by enabling non-Market applications to be installed.

They are currently being hosted on Slideme.org
already been said a few times
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    yeah honestly i hate how the only two switch theme options are blinding holy light of god or grey
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    Kill eyes OR bore eyes to death
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker
    Gift
  • F @ Forseenink3938:
    Can anyone here please help me on how to use TickCrypt 2.0?
    Gift
    F @ Forseenink3938: Can anyone here please help me on how to use TickCrypt 2.0?