editing windows ce files

Discussion in 'Computer Programming, Emulation, and Game Modding' started by TLSS_N, Mar 7, 2013.

Mar 7, 2013

editing windows ce files by TLSS_N at 2:53 AM (1,825 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. TLSS_N
    OP

    Member TLSS_N Who is John Galt?

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Back in the south~
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I have a windows ce file here in my possession that I am trying to replace an image internally. I can't seem to find a resource hacker type of utility, does anyone know of something I can use to do this?

    Thanks,
    TLSS_N
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Windows CE should just use but a minor tweak on the standard PE format that you otherwise probably know as exe (and dll and sys).
    http://upx.sourceforge.net/ should then be able to handle it.

    How it is ultimately packed into the file remains to be seen but that is the fun of "ROM" hacking.
     
    TLSS_N likes this.
  3. TLSS_N
    OP

    Member TLSS_N Who is John Galt?

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Back in the south~
    Country:
    United States
    Appreciate it fast! I was looking into editing a boot file for a gps unit I got for christmas, and I was really pulling my hair out, google wasn't really helping.

    edit: Well, I got the chance to look into it just now and I am having no luck with the program you suggested. :/ Do you know of any other way to unpack and edit it? I would host the file somewhere, but I am not exactly sure if it's the right file so I am going one at a time.[​IMG]
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TLSS_N likes this.
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    What is the device you'll be working with? Perhaps there are dedicated tools for it? ;)
     
    TLSS_N likes this.
  6. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,570
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    I've always used Resource Hacker for this on windows. If Windows CE uses the PE format as FAST6191 said, it might work for that too. I've only used the original ResHacker, but there is a successor to it here that is probably better: http://rammichael.com/resource-hacker-fx
    There is also XN Resource Editor, that the ResHacker author himself recommended, and it seems to have a built in image editor so you don't need to use an external application: http://www.wilsonc.demon.co.uk/d10resourceeditor.htm
     
    TLSS_N likes this.
  7. TLSS_N
    OP

    Member TLSS_N Who is John Galt?

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Back in the south~
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I'll look into it in a bit, I am a bit busy atm... either way, I'll get back to you.
    It's a no name chinese gps unit I got for christmas, my parents thought I could use my own gps unit, and I was planning on moving myself in the not to distant future. I've been trying to edit the boot/splash screen because it's along the lines of a "for dummies" type of device. Not my preference, but with third party apps, I can use different maps like the ones from the gps unit they have.

    Hmm, I hadn't heard of any successors, If the link fast provided doesn't pan out, I'll get back to this program and check it out, thanks again!
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It's going to be quite diffucult to establish what you'll need to do since WinCE is, more often than not, packed in a specific way depending on the device. I'd suggest googling the device up - where there are custom ROM's, there are tools as well.

    Last time I did that sort of thing, I was modding the software for my Mio A701 (Win CE5-based Windows Mobile PNE, pretty neat) so I may be a bit rusty, but this much I'm sure of - look for dedicated software before trying to re-invent the wheel. :)
     
    TLSS_N likes this.
  9. TLSS_N
    OP

    Member TLSS_N Who is John Galt?

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Back in the south~
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, miopocket is what I was going to try and use, I already have it installed. But, YFshell isn't anywhere in the windows directory, so I have a feeling it's buried somewhere within one of the executable. I attempted to seek help previously, but really that didn't go very far. I seriously doubt that a complete software replacement is available for the device I have. It wasn't very popular, even though it sold for literally ~2x dollars at drugs stores at time.
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It's highly-probable that if it's a mass-produced chinese "poo-poo" device, it may very well be built on the same blueprint as millions of other chinese "poo-poo" devices. ;)
     
    TLSS_N likes this.
  11. TLSS_N
    OP

    Member TLSS_N Who is John Galt?

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Back in the south~
    Country:
    United States
    I looked before, really nothing came up (I spent several nights googling for similar ideas, hoping to find a device like it to launch from that point forward). My best bet is to look for the image and move from that point forward.
     
  12. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Oh, I realize that - it'd just help us in helping you if we had some background info about the device itself in order to help you - maybe someone here has it too. ;)
     
    TLSS_N likes this.
  13. TLSS_N
    OP

    Member TLSS_N Who is John Galt?

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Back in the south~
    Country:
    United States
    Well, here is the devices home page and I supposed I could get the processors name from windows ce, but really I don't know what else to provide besides possibly a whole nand image dump I made a while back.
     
  14. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,706
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Okay, can you test something for me TLSS_N?

    After some Google'ing I found out that you can boot directly into WinCE by creating a file called "YFgo2CE.bld" on the SD Card - it can contain any kind of padding, it just has to be at least 1 byte big. Once you're done with that, reboot the device and check what happens. This method is said to work on a lot of Chinese PNA's, including the FD-220.

    If it boots WinCE, it should initialize standard Windows background processes rather than the "For Dummies" menu. From there, you can connect the device via USB and edit the registery using CeRegEdit - just make sure to have backup copies etc.

    EDIT: Yes, I realize this doesn't help you in swapping images. What it does help you in though is disabling the Autostart of the "Dummies" shell - you can swap it to Explorer.exe via regedit, clean up the ResidentFlash and bam - you'll have clean WinCE. I assume this is what you ultimately want, right?
     

Share This Page