EDGE OS v1.41 Released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by JPH, Oct 9, 2008.

Oct 9, 2008

EDGE OS v1.41 Released by JPH at 6:38 PM (5,626 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. JPH
    OP

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    EDGE OS v1.41 Released
    Slow-Motion Feature Added
    [​IMG]
    We're a few days late on the update, but it looks like a firmware update has been released for the CycloDS clone, EDGE DS.
    In this update, the Slow-Motion feature has been added as well as the cheat code database file. Official changelog and download link below.
    Off-site Download
    EDGE Website
    [​IMG] Discuss
     


  2. mcjones92

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    Coool slow motion. What other carts have this feature?
     
  3. SkyintheSea

    Member SkyintheSea GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    America
    Country:
    United States
    That sucks that they probably stole the slow motion feature from the Cyclo DS.
     
  4. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, probably is just taken from the Cyclo, but I guess you can't really complain.

    As for which cards... not many.

    CycloDS, Edge and possibly the Supercard. The AK2 had a working slow-motion but as it required updating with each new loader it was abandoned.

    I think most people don't really see it as a 'must-have' feature.
     
  5. Foie

    Member Foie That one guy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    Clackamas, Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    This is actually VERY good news. The EDGE has pretty much been the same as the CycloDS excluding most of the extra features. Now we have slow motion. Maybe this means that we'll be getting more features in the future, like real-time saving and in-game text reading. Now that would be awesome. I just hope they continue to release more cool features like this.
     
  6. misterCraig

    Newcomer misterCraig Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has anyone been able to download this? I've tried several times over the past hour or so, and I keep getting the following:

    The one time it did work, it was downloading so slow, it was going to take about 40 minutes, and half way through I got a "connection reset" message.
     
  7. qtpie82

    Newcomer qtpie82 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Anyone try the backlight adjustment cheat codes included in the download on the Edge card? Whenever I use it on the edge, the game freezes and I have to turn the system off and on again.

    If I use the same cheat code database for the M3 Simply, the backlight adjustment works fine.
     
  8. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Mirror at Mediafire
     
  9. misterCraig

    Newcomer misterCraig Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you.
     
  10. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Is EDGE aiming for being a CycloDS ripoff now?
     
  11. retiredjerk

    Member retiredjerk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    how is adding slow mo a rippoff ? they are just giving their end users cool little updates that adds ome nice functionality. just because cyclods did slow mo first doesnt mean everyone who does it is a ripoff. besides Supercard had slow mo around the same time as cyclo. This card definately needs its own section now!
     
  12. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Supercard has had slow-motion ever since their slot 2 flashcarts, but slow-motion is a really unnecessary feature if you'd ask me.
     
  13. ATARI

    Newcomer ATARI Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    i'm pretty sure that they never really tried to hide it in the first place
     
  14. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,931
    Country:
    United States
    ....annnnnnndddd STILL NO R4 FIRMWARE UPDATE...G*D DAMNIT MUTHER F*CK!
     
  15. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I highly doubt there will ever be another R4 firmware update.
     
  16. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Slo-Mo cool! But somewhow useless don't you think. But i guess its wort upgrading. This card never fails to surprise me. Well yeah its an cyclo DS ripoff and yeah its copying its ideas, but they are doing it so damn well.
     
  17. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon

    I'm getting the same prob its driving me mad!
     
  18. blk.rebl

    Newcomer blk.rebl Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    i own an edge card and think its fantastic and all, but honestly i don't see the point of slow-mo in nds games? when does the action ever get more than heavy enough to warrant a slow motion feature?
     
  19. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I've used it a couple of times in Sonic Rush and Nanostray boss fights, but for the most part the feature isn't all that useful.
     
  20. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    hm. i cant seem to get slow mo working :/
    i replaced the old files with the new ones
    but nothing happens when i press L R Down B :[
     

Share This Page