DVDs not loading.

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Scott-105, May 29, 2010.

May 29, 2010

DVDs not loading. by Scott-105 at 5:24 PM (2,714 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So, I'm using NeoGamma R8. When I try to load a DVD backup, it be Gamecube or Wii, "I get DVD Read Error (1167)". When I load from USB it works fine. It's just disks that are not working. Any ideas as to what's going on?

    Wii:
    Region: NTSC-U running 4.1U
    cIOS38r17
    Sony DVD+Rs
    Tried NeoGamma and USB loader GX...Neither worked

    I also tried Memorex DVD-Rs, but when I put it in the drive, NeoGamma says there is no disk, and USB loader GX starts loading then reboots the Wii.
     


  2. D34DL1N3R

    Member D34DL1N3R Nephilim

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,614
    Country:
    United States
    Possibly a D3-2 drive?
     
  3. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    No way. I got my Wii on release day back in 2006.
     
  4. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Crappy Brand?
     
  5. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    What does that even mean?
     
  6. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Scott,
    give us as much info on your Wii as possible, that helps us, help you.
    Region?
    cIOS?
    DVD-R's?
    Loaders used?
     
  7. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Region is NTSC-U ( I think, I know it's a US Wii.) It's running 4.1U
    cIOS38r17
    Sony DVDs
    I've tried NeoGamma and USB loader GX

    (sorry for late reply, I had to go to work)
     
  8. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    DVD+R or DVD-R?
     
  9. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    They are DVD+R
     
  10. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    I never got problems using DVD-R.
    Did u try DVD-r?
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you bitset them to DVD-R?
     
  12. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    No, I don't know how. (sorry I'm a complete noob at wii hacking)
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Google bitsetting and/or booktype of DVD+Rs. Oh and it's something only related to DVD+Rs, it's not possible on DVD-Rs. Oh i forgot, you need to bitset DVD+Rs to DVD-Rs if you want to use them in your Wii.
     
  14. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    lol omg I'm such a fail. I tried doing what you said Wiipower but I don't know which DVD burner I have.
     
  15. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow, I am having TERRIBLE luck with this [​IMG] I got some DVD-Rs from a friend and NeoGamma says there is no DVD. Wtf is going on lol
     
  16. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you know about the backup resistant drives? Are you sure your Wii doesn't have one of these?
     
  17. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, I know about back up resistant drives. I don't think I can have one, because I got my Wii at launch day.
     
  18. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Which brand of DVD-R's did you use?
    Also, DVD+R's do not work normally on a Wii without a modchip. You need to bitset them as WiiPower said.

    DVD-R's should work with almost every brand, but, ofcourse, there are some exceptions.
     
  19. Scott-105
    OP

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I used Memorex DVD-Rs.

    Also, I'm gonna try bitsetting my DVD+Rs, but I don't know which drive I have. Any way to find out which drive it is?
     
  20. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    Sry my fault dude,,,,
    are ur wii new? lu70+
    cause newer wiis cant read DVD cause D3-2 drive,, this "new" chipset just allow original DVD games. And USB softmod is working fine!
    i think this is ur problem... d3-2 chipset.

    i softmod 5+ wii 4.2u this weekend and all LU74. All failed to run DVD backup but worked perfect through USB device.

    i hope this solve ur doubt.

    peace [​IMG]
     

Share This Page