DVD-RW?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mrkinator, Jan 4, 2009.

Jan 4, 2009

DVD-RW? by Mrkinator at 7:07 AM (1,044 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm going to start experimenting on Rock Band 2 customs now (YAY!). Once I finish it, I'll post a guide here (like I did w/ RB1 customs)

    Now, I don't want make the mistake I did last time with RB1 customs and burn 5+ DVD-R's...

    So I want to get some DVD-RW's. I know that DVD-RW's aren't recommended, but does anyone know of some good one's that work on the Wii?

    I'm using Soft-Chip for customs, but I also have Gamma. Not sure if this helps.
     
  2. WhiteWingedKnigh

    Member WhiteWingedKnigh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Ummm.....
    Country:
    United States
    As far as i know, no DVD-RW's work, the wii drive can't read any other format except DVD-R (DVD-ROM)
     
  3. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    yes it can read dvd-rw's but you will get much "cannot read the disc " errors
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I believe it has to do with your drive chip, maybe yours is capable, just try the best ones and cross your fingers....!!! [​IMG]
     
  5. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    best to test DVD-RW's with an ISO you know works - and test it more than once - if u get it going - try it in and out 10 times
    if that works - delete and reburn and try again

    Great if you have it working and best of luck , but they are known to be fickle
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you use DVD-RWs you need really good quality media and a good burner. And then it still depends on your wii drive if you can use them or not. Get good media, update your burner and try it with a game you know that it works.
     
  7. exoskelett

    Newcomer exoskelett Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Hildesheim
    Country:
    Germany
    DVD-RWs always worked fine for me. Of course hq-ones from Sony or Verbatim.
     
  8. RomMon

    Newcomer RomMon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm using Philips DVD+RW to test an ISO before using a DVD-R.
    I also use them for watching movies.
    I bought a 10 pack about 2 years ago and 3 of the discs are worn-out now (probably after using them about 30 times I guess).
     
  9. bugaveli

    Banned bugaveli Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    In a remote place
    Country:
    United States
    dvd-rw are the most buggy laggy jumpy pain in my @$$ for me. Someties theyr un fine, but seems like everytim ei accomplish something and get almost to the save point i get disc cant be read lol. dvd-rs are my best friend
     
  10. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, thanks everyone! Maybe I'll just stick with DVD-R's, since I have a stack of 30+ with me [​IMG]

    But still, this is good for future reference [​IMG]
     
  11. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I use Fujifilm DVD+RW if I want to test a game, and it always works - no exception.
     

Share This Page