DVD read error 1101

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by BigSteel, Oct 25, 2009.

Oct 25, 2009

DVD read error 1101 by BigSteel at 4:56 AM (5,999 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. BigSteel
    OP

    Newcomer BigSteel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I just received a brand new Wii to mod today. It was on 4.0 and I updated to 4.2 thru nintendo and then ran thru the mod posted in the stickies above. I have done this at least 6 times now with no issue. This time, and backup I use with Neo Gamma r7 gives me a DVD read error 1101. I searched and couldn't come up with anything conclusive. It sounds like it could be the brand of disc. I am using RiData burned at 2x using imgBurn. I also read a couple of posts saying that there are certain drives that won't read backups ever. Is this true? USB loader works fine.
     
  2. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Yeah, that's true. Don't know if the modchips bypass this sort of protection...
     
  3. Bloodlust

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Maybe it's using the D3-2 chipset. No backups will work...
     
  4. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah as bloodlust said it is probably one of the new Wii drives D3-2 . Ninty is trying to prevent backup's with hardware solutions now. Not sure what your serial number is but I know LU394 Wii's have this drive.

    Ninty = FAIL

    You will need to use a USB Loader like USB Loader GX or Wiiflow. Get a USB Hard drive and play backups till the cows come home [​IMG]
     
  5. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Now it's correct.
     
  6. BigSteel
    OP

    Newcomer BigSteel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Serial begins with LU112, so I think it is an older one. It was purchased from Best Buy as an 'Open Box'....
     
  7. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I heard a new modchip WODE might work on it in the future. Just saying...
     
  8. Dmon84

    Member Dmon84 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Country:
    Germany
    Just google for a new disc drive to replace your old one. Then you can play backup discs in your wii.
     
  9. HeBeertje

    Newcomer HeBeertje Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    For European Wii's the serial that has these new drives starts with LEM102 although I hear LEH4xx also has these. I can only confirm LEM102 for now.
     
  10. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    -1101 means either your dvd drive is d3-2 as mentioned above or your laser is dead.
    if bootmii can install as boot2 then its more likely the laser is dead.
     
  11. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    @OP, I have been using RiData discs burned at 4X with 0 problems so while that doesn't rule out the media I would say the problem is likely with the drive.
     
  12. TimwaTumble

    Newcomer TimwaTumble Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i get disk error 1011 aswell. its a fairly old wii so i doubt it is the d3-2 drive.
    bootmii installed as boot2,
    xxxzero you said this could mean the laser is dead, as in broken?, do i need a new drive?
    is it fixable?
     

Share This Page