DSx86 DOS emulator for DS

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by granville, Nov 8, 2009.

Nov 8, 2009

DSx86 DOS emulator for DS by granville at 9:09 AM (2,311 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. granville
    OP

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Here's you something to look at. It sure caught my eye. Apparently, someone is attempting to make an x86 emulator for the DS. Something to play DOS and old DOS games. Details, copy/pasted because i'm lazy-

    "Hi all!

    For the last 4 months I have been working on an x86 emulator for NDS.
    Now finally I have something to show for my efforts, so I decided to
    announce this project, and release a technical demonstration.

    DSx86 currently emulates 80286 processor, MCGA 320x200 screen and SoundBlaster audio.

    You can find the demo at http://dsx86.patrickaalto.com/

    The demo has my old DOS game LineWars II bundled with the emulator core. The emulator runs the game between 5 and 15 fps, with rare peaks up to 30 fps, depending on the amount of ships alive and visible on the screen.

    I have also a blog/diary on my DSx86 web pages that gives some background about the emulator in case you are interested.

    Thanks for reading!

    Pate"


    Honestly, I'd like to see this happen, but most people will likely assume it's not possible to emulate an entire PC platform on a system like DS. Who knows though? Already better than that dosbox concept that ran at like 2fps. [​IMG]

    News from-
    http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=263092
     
  2. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A step closer to Daggerfall on the DS? [​IMG]
     
  3. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i thought it would be easier but i guess implementing everything is much harder
     
  4. IceRentoraa29

    Member IceRentoraa29 Don't get in between a kid and his ice cream cone.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    The Land of Wuz AKA: Kuromi
    Country:
    United States
    Somebody needs to go work on that MiniVMac emulator so I can play Gunshy properly [​IMG] [​IMG] but I'd like to see this come to fruition though.
     
  5. Sterling

    Member Sterling GBAtemp's Silver Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, though I have never played any old DOS games, I realize the a few of the better games of the old days were on the platform. [​IMG] I await this with baited breath. [​IMG]
     
  6. Pazuzu

    Newcomer Pazuzu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Ireland
    Commander Keen? Or am I asking too much?
     
  7. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    This would be pretty cool if it gets some speed improvements, but still nothing beats VirtualBox and an actual installation of MS-DOS. [​IMG]
     
  8. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    OREGON-FUCKIN'-TRAIL DELUXE ANYONE?
     
  9. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    I think you need more than a 286 for that. :/
    Oh wait I lied.
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
  11. Loginer

    Newcomer Loginer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Sweden
    Can you run Windows 3.1 on this thing yet?
     
  12. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    edit: derp
     
  13. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Nice work, I'm going to try my old copy of WC2 which I still have. Man, fun times back when i played those games on my old 386.
     
  14. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i still have a working 286 and my 486. i use them all the time to play old dos games. but also i make use of dosbox on my xp install. my sound blaster card took a dump years ago and some of my older dos games don't work that well with the generic sound card in my 486.

    dos is like a 5,000 game collection. i'm sure the goodset is more, i'm actually too lazy to look it up. my point being that even if 100 games are eventually playable we gain another 100 games on the ds. i love emulation and homebrew!! there are so many great RPGs for dos, too bad you probably won't be able to read any of their small text on the tiny ass ds screen.

    -another world
     
  15. BastarB

    Member BastarB Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, what I had understand this emulator can't emulate a cpu greater than the 286 version! Atleast not now!
     

Share This Page