Homebrew DSiWare to .CIA?

Tebra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
109
Trophies
0
XP
2,195
Country
Belgium
Hi all,
I have some DSi games in .NDS format and I want to convert them to .CIA format and install them with FBI.
I don't find any tutorial to do that.
Sorry for m'y bad English
 

Sono

cripple piss
Developer
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
2,834
Trophies
2
Location
home
XP
9,481
Country
Hungary
Hi all,
I have some DSi games in .NDS format and I want to convert them to .CIA format and install them with FBI.
I don't find any tutorial to do that.
Sorry for m'y bad English

Well, if it's REAL DSiWare game, then just run
Code:
make_cia --srl=rom.nds

If it's not REAL DSiWare, make_cia will complain. If make_cia complains, it means that the ROM you're trying to make a cia out of is not compatible with installation (trust me, I have spent 2 days, it's not possible unless you insert the original cart).

You can download a compiled exe (I assume you're on windoze) here.
 

Ketchup901

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
129
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Stockholm
XP
171
Country
Well, if it's REAL DSiWare game, then just run
Code:
make_cia --srl=rom.nds

If it's not REAL DSiWare, make_cia will complain. If make_cia complains, it means that the ROM you're trying to make a cia out of is not compatible with installation (trust me, I have spent 2 days, it's not possible unless you insert the original cart).

You can download a compiled exe (I assume you're on windoze) here.
Binaries for all supported operating systems can be found here: https://github.com/ihaveamac/ctr_toolkit/releases
 

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,696
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Imola
XP
6,926
Country
Italy
If make_cia complains, it means that the ROM you're trying to make a cia out of is not compatible with installation (trust me, I have spent 2 days, it's not possible unless you insert the original cart).

There's actually a Python program to upgrade DS software to DSi :D
No it doesn't make physical games usable in digital format
 

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,696
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Imola
XP
6,926
Country
Italy
Well, I have tested it, it's broken for both retail ROMs, and both homebrew (at least for me)

I tried converting a bad header homebrew (flashcard programmer), and I accidentally the world's biggest DSiWare...
photo_2016-07-17_22-00-56.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: I pwned U!

Tebra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
109
Trophies
0
XP
2,195
Country
Belgium
One more question. My DSi to cia install works with FBI and game icon appears on my home menu but game don't start.
Just have a black screen. Other dsi games works.
Are DSi region protected?
My 3ds runs last luma3ds on update 11
 
Last edited by Tebra,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • PandaPandel
  • BakerMan
    I rather enjoy a life of taking it easy. I haven't reached that life yet though.
    PandaPandel @ PandaPandel: im playing fortnite rn and just got rsn over by a car