DSi played gba dumps?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by TheBuzzer, Apr 12, 2009.

Apr 12, 2009

DSi played gba dumps? by TheBuzzer at 8:22 PM (2,125 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. TheBuzzer
    OP

    Newcomer TheBuzzer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to get a dsi and a flash cart that supports playing gba games?

    Or does dsi completely strip out the gba hardware so only ds games work?
     
  2. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't matter if the hardware is completely taken out. That has nothing to do with emulating GBA games.

    As long as you have enough RAM and power you could emulate GBA games on a Slot-1 card.

    The DSi does have enough RAM (just barely though), but it's not as simple as running a homebrew emulator on your Slot-1 card on a DSi. First we need to crack the DSi and unlock the DSi Mode in flashcarts. Then we have to make a special homebrew emulator that doesn't ask for the GBA expansion and that also uses the DSi's new amounts of power.
     
  3. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    for the most, part
    GBA game need a slot-2 card
    as the Dsi has NO slot-2 port GBA game WILL NOT run on it

    and we CANT use the DSI mode stuff as the dsi Flash card out now only run in DS mode
    NOT dsi mode
     
  4. TheBuzzer
    OP

    Newcomer TheBuzzer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    so right now to get the most stuff it is still better to just get a ds ?
     
  5. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, if you want GBA games, it is still better to get a DS Lite + Slot-1 flashcart (CycloDS, AK2, etc) + EZ 3 in 1.

    IF (and that's a big IF) there is ever a way to play GBA on the DSi, chances are:

    - it won't be for a long time
    - the compatibility won't be nearly as good as what you can already do with a DS Lite and the above setup.
     
  6. MG4M3R

    Member MG4M3R GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    Brazil
    DSi probably will emulate GBA, but nearly as good as what you can do with a DS Lite and his Slot 2.
     
  7. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    ^ This is true. The other replies are only half-truths

    You just need RAM to run GBA games. 32MB of ram, to run any GBA game (the largest games are 32MB, the smaller ones are as small as 2MB).

    A DS lite can take a slot-2 cartridge, so you can add in RAM (with something like an ezflash 3-in-1 or something similar). The DSi however, has 16MB built-in RAM. This means it could potentially play games up to 16MB in size, but never have full compatibility. Even then, flash carts and programmers have yet to unlock the DSi's features such as the camera and RAM.

    You could do what I did and get a DSi and a micro [​IMG]
     
  8. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    Im sure they can port a GBA emulator to the DSi they already have game boy colour and SNES
     
  9. George290506

    Member George290506 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Hellas, Macedonia
    Country:
    Greece
    Do we know when the 1st DSi game will be released...? (or do you mean the 1st DSiware rom to be played in a flashcart?)
     
  10. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    You don't understand though. You can't run a GBA Emulator on Slot-1 without extra ram. And currently anything that's put in Slot-1 and ran can only use 4 MB of the DSi's ram. That's not enough to run a GBA emulator. So they won't make one until DSi Mode is unlocked. And that may not be for a long time. Also even if the DSi Mode is unlocked they still have to code a new emulator that takes advantage of this new RAM.
     
  11. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,747
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States

    Umm, No. that is mostly wrong. It does not need extra ram to run, It cant only read from slot-2 in gba mode. so the slot-2 cards loads the gba file in its onboard ram so when the ds is switched to gba mode and begins to read slot-2 for the gba file, the slot-2 card has it for it to read. the reason it needs ram an not read from the microsd/sd card some of the older slot 2 cards have is because it is not a fast enough read from it as it is from ram.
     

Share This Page