DSi Mode PassMe device?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by moisesmcardona, Aug 29, 2011.

Aug 29, 2011
  1. moisesmcardona
    OP

    Newcomer moisesmcardona Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Well since DSi Mode is unlocked and there is now SD access, Could there be, in the future, a PassMe-like device that could just launch games and homebrew from the SD Card?

    If this is possible, Future flashcards would not need the MicroSD slot, since they will use the DSi/3DS SD Card Slot, and the system files would also be on the SD Card.
     
  2. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, as soon as a slot-1 card is loaded, the SD slot is deactivated. It is impossible.
     
  3. emmanu888

    Member emmanu888 6 years and still going strong

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Victoriaville,Qu├ębec
    Country:
    Canada
    if we launch it in dsi mode wouldn't it be possible ?
     
  4. moisesmcardona
    OP

    Newcomer moisesmcardona Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    That's what I mean. Make a DSi-Mode flashcard which immediately boots to SD Card software
     
  5. Aurora Wright

    Member Aurora Wright GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,388
    Country:
    Italy
    Spinal is correct. As soon as a Slot1 Card is loaded (DSi mode or DS mode, doesn't matter), SD slot and NAND access are disabled.
    And, when a DSiWare is loaded, Slot1 access is disabled.
     
  6. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    You would think Nintendo would want to encourage developers by making all the system's hardware available. Are 3DS developers locked out of the SD card too?
     
  7. moisesmcardona
    OP

    Newcomer moisesmcardona Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Then if Slot1 acces is disabled in DSiWare, how can MySims Camera detect if there is a game in Slot1 to unlock extra content?
     
  8. ichichfly

    Member ichichfly GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Country:
    Germany
    well every DSi software has flags that say what it use and the DSi have to enable but most DSiWare say slot-1 disabled only some say slot-1 enabled

    In most Slot-1 card games this flags say SD disabled, slot-1 (no change) ...
     
  9. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    So... couldn't we make a hacked DSiWare app from MySims that would enable the flag to load from Slot1?

    EDIT: The title of the thread is really stupid, BTW. PassMe specifically refers to using a Slot1 cart to boot to Slot2, which a DSi lacks.
     
  10. Themanhunt

    Member Themanhunt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry if i'm being a noob, but doesn't the iEvolution support DSi mode? I saw it running that homebrew cooking game?
     
  11. ichichfly

    Member ichichfly GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Country:
    Germany
    You need to find a exploit in MySims to get that working because the flag and the code are singed

    also most if not all Slot-1 games has the flag for slot-1 (no change) that means the Slot-1 will disabled once you change the slot-1 card

    PassMe worked that way they patched the ARM7 entry address into GBA slot that is not possible since the SD data is not direct executable
     
  12. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    instead of callng yourself names, inform yourself and then make comments.

    read this: http://gbatemp.net/t279940-cyclods-ievolution-review

    -another world
     

Share This Page