DSI firmware question

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Gunslinger Evan, Jun 23, 2010.

Jun 23, 2010

DSI firmware question by Gunslinger Evan at 4:59 AM (1,513 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I want to buy the Acekard 2i for my dsi and am on ver. 1.4U, will it still work??
     
  2. runthroughboy

    Newcomer runthroughboy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah But Ur Going To need another DS to update
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    They come with the older one, so the site would have to open them up, put them in a DS, and update them manually.

    Most sites charge $1 for the service, if they offer it.
     
  5. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I have a phat ds with a cyclods and i was thinking of ordering it from realhotstuff
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Then use the second link before using the first link in the previous post.
     
  7. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    So all I have to do basically is update the Acekard 2i to the proper firmware and then use it with my dsi?
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It is the bootstrap that allows the flashcart to work on the DSi. You can still be using AKAIO 1.5 or whatever version of the firmware afterwards.


    Update the AK2i bootstrap using a DS/lite. After that the AK2i will work on a DSi. They call it a firmware update, ingrained mis-definition really.
     
  9. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for all the help, i'm going to buy me one now
     
  10. naruses

    Member naruses GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Your Mom
    Country:
    United States
    Gunslinger, you should buy it from here Shoptemp this is GBATemp official shop website in which you will get an excellent customer service. Believe you will not be dissapointed with ShopTemp .

    If you add Premium Update + Flashing Service they will update it to you for the firmware 1.4, just for $1.

    You may also want to try the SuperCard DSTWO the new flashcart which includes: Almost perfect DS Roms Compability, RTS(so you can save the game whenever you want and then continue it there), In Game Guide(to be able to open walkthroughs, game guides and more), In Game Cheat(be able to use cheats while on game, Stylish GUI, and an antipiracy patch database, a GameBoy Advance Emulator.Also in future releases(which the team Promised): DivX/Xvid movie playback(which will accept many formats like .avi,.divx,.xvid, and many more instead of the troublesome .DPG video format which most flashcards just accept), Snes Emulation, and many more. And it also comes preflashed for 1.4.

    And great for you for not being one of those n00bs that are just asking where to order R4i, you made your research and decided for the Acekard 2i, great choice [​IMG]

    BTW heres a direct link to the Acekard 2i
     
  11. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I never liked R4's, my friend had one and it wouldn't work on my DS for some reason.

    So do you guys recommend the SuperCard over the Acekard?

    I would get a CycloDSI but unfortunately it doesnt exist =(
     
  12. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personally I would get the DSTWO if I were going to buy another cart, but I still have 3 Acekard 2i's that I over ordered.

    The DSTWO has a lot of potential, especially as they are going to release a SDK for it. It's perfect for homebrew/ emulators.
     
  13. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Well only reason i'm going for the Acekard is because it's cheap and as long as it can play DS roms that I own ;-) i'll be happy
     
  14. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a decent cart, I brought 4 for my Sister, nephew and nieces and they are very happy with them.

    If you are new to them though, have a read of my guide in my sig.
     
  15. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I have your guide bookmarked lol so I think i'll get the acekard from shoptemp, it looks reliable and I trust gbatemp, thanks guys
     
  16. naruses

    Member naruses GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Your Mom
    Country:
    United States
    Gunslinger, before buying give a final look to the Supercard DSTWO on shoptemp, to look all the features it has, considerate it, it is worth it. Anyways if you wanna stay with the Acekard 2i, it is great, cheap and does it job.

    Good luck with your Acekard 2i [​IMG]

    Please reply us and tell us your final decision.

    Thanks, Naruses
     
  17. Gunslinger Evan
    OP

    Newcomer Gunslinger Evan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Hey naruses, I made my purchase today, I checked out the SuperCard and it's an excellent card, but too steep a price for what I need it for, I already have a CycloDS and it is my all-purpose flashcart, this is just a secondary card for my DSI, all I want it to do is play games.

    Thanks for the recommendation though I will definitely be coming back here when I receive the Acekard, just in case I need the help =)
     

Share This Page