DS2x86 0.03 UPDATE

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by kiafazool, Feb 6, 2011.

Feb 6, 2011

DS2x86 0.03 UPDATE by kiafazool at 5:19 PM (1,643 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. kiafazool
    OP

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    RELEASED

    a new update from Pate

    it runs DOOM!!!!!!!!


    go to the website to download

    http://dsx86.patrickaalto.com/


    he also released dsx86 0.24 - it works on ievo
     
  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,831
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Now all it needs to do is run Elder Scrolls Arena and that will be the best day EVER!
    Wait does that mean this can run Strife?
     
  3. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I want to see gameplay footage of this.
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,831
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I tried to play doom and it just gave me error, but with the Ultimate version and regular registered version.
     
  5. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    I played Doom (retail wad) for a bit on it, and it worked for me, but it was a lil choppy...smoothed it out by reducing the screen size a couple of notches.
    I'd love to see Heretic running on this=)
     
  6. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    I hate to sound like a retro-noob (seriously, that goes against everything I believe in), but can this play games like Ultima?
     
  7. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a handy compatibility wiki for DSx86 (not the DS2x86alpha, its really rudimentary right now).
    But, it looks like Ultima 2-6 work, while Ultima 1 has some issues.
     
  8. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks so much, I really hate that this game (series) was before my generation's time (for the most part).
     
  9. Master_Thief

    Newcomer Master_Thief Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some testing I've done.

    Playable/Partially playable games
    Alien Breed - Playable - Excellent speed, no sound though.
    Bloodnet - Partially Working - Gets ingame but has some issues with the cursor, also gives an "unsupported opcode" everytime the top menu is shown.
    Burntime - Playable - Works, though no sound.
    Bram Stokers Dracula - Playable - Runs at a pretty good speed.
    Cybercon 3 - Playable - Works, though no sound.
    Doom (Ultimate Doom) - Playable - Works, though is a little slow.
    Formula One Grand Prix - Partially Working - Gets ingame and runs at a pretty good speed, but gives an "unsupported opcode" at random.
    Grand Prix Unlimited - Playable - Excellent speed, though sound only partially working.
    Ken's Labyrinth - Playable - Great speed, though no sound.
    KGB - Playable - Works, though no sound.
    Raiden - Playable - Excellent speed, no sound though.
    Sensible Soccer - Playable - Excellent speed, no sound though.
    Spellcraft - Playable - Works, though no sound.
    Ultima Underworld - Partially Working - Ingame runs at great speed, no sound though and saving/loading not working.
    Wing Commander - Playable - Excellent speed, no sound though.
    Wing Commander 2 - Playable - Excellent speed, no sound except speech though.
    X-Wing - Playable - Excellent speed, no sound though.
    Yendorian Tales: Tyrants Of Thaine - Playable - Works, though no sound.

    Complete list of games tested
     
  10. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wake me up when I can install win3.1 on it (can win3.1 even be installed on 4DOS?).
     
  11. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,001
    Country:
    Actually, it is just the space portion of Ultima 1 that does not work. Specifically, as soon as you try to move in space you will "collide" with the scenery from the ground (which is not cleared like it is supposed to be) and your shields will be depleted until you die. Everything else works fine. I believe Ultima 4 and 6 require loadfix and it is possible Ultima 6 will not let you save.

    For ds2x86 it is another story. Ultima 2 does not work, Ultima 4 has a BSOD, and Ultima 6 can/will corrupt your MicroSD when you try to save. Ultima 1, 3 and 5 work fine.

    Note that in both cases, for Ultima 3 I recommend using the upgrade patch (http://reconstruction.voyd.net/zips/u3upgrade.zip) which features a speed/frame limiter . Note that you will need to use DOSbox to apply the patch and after it is installed you MUST disable MIDI sound with u3cfg.exe (dsx86/ds2x86 do not support the midpak midi system used). Both the patch installer and u3cfg.exe require cwsdpmi so those steps have to be done from DOSBox.
     

Share This Page