Hacking DS roms without flashcard

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,937
Trophies
2
XP
4,328
Country
Germany
probably never.
has something to do with ds games adressing specific adresses on the flashcarts that don't exist on sd.

you'd have to patch any and all of these adress calls in a ds game manually to have a chance of making this work. and thats just... too much work
 
Last edited by Clydefrosch,

Temarile

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ A9LH ✧゚・: *ヽ(◕ヮ◕ヽ)
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,132
Trophies
0
XP
529
Country
Netherlands
probably never.
has something to do with ds games adressing specific adresses on the flashcarts that don't exist on sd.

you'd have to patch any and all of these adress calls in a ds game manually to have a chance of making this work. and thats just... too much work

There has been a kind of breakthrough. There is a possibility of loading DS roms with SD access through NTR CFW. It is still being worked on.
 

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,937
Trophies
2
XP
4,328
Country
Germany
There has been a kind of breakthrough. There is a possibility of loading DS roms with SD access through NTR CFW. It is still being worked on.
but running a ds rom from sd and running a ds rom from a flashcart while accessing the sd are two very different things, aren't they?

it still doesn't change the way ds roms try to communicate with a system
 

Temarile

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ A9LH ✧゚・: *ヽ(◕ヮ◕ヽ)
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,132
Trophies
0
XP
529
Country
Netherlands
but running a ds rom from sd and running a ds rom from a flashcart while accessing the sd are two very different things, aren't they?

it still doesn't change the way ds roms try to communicate with a system

Yes but if this works then it means you won't need a flashcard for loading DS roms. You'll be able to boot them using ntr cfw from the 3ds sd card.
 

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,937
Trophies
2
XP
4,328
Country
Germany
Yes but if this works then it means you won't need a flashcard for loading DS roms. You'll be able to boot them using ntr cfw from the 3ds sd card.

no, it does not. having access to the sd card has never been the problem with this. its that the roms themselves want to access original ds cart hardware. because that's how they've been coded to work

all nitrohax does is access cheats from the sd card and apply them to the game in ds mode. but this is very far from making ds roms work from sd
 

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
457
Country
United States
no, it does not. having access to the sd card has never been the problem with this. its that the roms themselves want to access original ds cart hardware. because that's how they've been coded to work

all nitrohax does is access cheats from the sd card and apply them to the game in ds mode. but this is very far from making ds roms work from sd
NTR CFW, Not Nitrohax.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Xenon Hacks

FR0ZN

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
1,239
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
2,992
Country
United States
Can someone clarify what is currently possible and what the breakthrough has been? :D
Mabye with a link for proof or something?
 

Haymose

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
405
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,246
Country
United States
It has something to do with demo download stations. We are not getting full DS games as cia but it has been done with demos I believe.
 

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
457
Country
United States

DeslotlCL

GBAtemp's scalie trash
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
2,847
Trophies
0
XP
2,734
Country
United States
probably never.
has something to do with ds games adressing specific adresses on the flashcarts that don't exist on sd.

you'd have to patch any and all of these adress calls in a ds game manually to have a chance of making this work. and thats just... too much work
Apache thunder said that they will work to get rom loading from the dsi hombrew app.
 

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,057
Trophies
0
Website
ha1vorsen.com
XP
1,763
Country
United States
probably never.
has something to do with ds games adressing specific adresses on the flashcarts that don't exist on sd.

you'd have to patch any and all of these adress calls in a ds game manually to have a chance of making this work. and thats just... too much work
Probably never? Haha, I expect a method within the next two months. After all, pretty much everything except loading retail games themselves is possible now. Within the last two weeks, we have DS homebrew channel loading without a game card, AR Cheats without a game card and using a legit game, and SD reading in TWL mode.

BY THE WAY: NTR IS THE DS's CODENAME.

This has nothing to do with NTR CFW, even though it was also based off the DS codename.
 
Last edited by Halvorsen,
  • Like
Reactions: Billy Acuña

Jack Daniels

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2016
Messages
534
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
South-Holland
XP
258
Country
Netherlands
Apache thunder said that they will work to get rom loading from the dsi hombrew app.
now this makes sence, the homebrew might not have the problem with specific adresses in the flashcards. would ean it's not that much interesting since it means we created a backdoor to something we could allready use the frontdoor for... homebrew can just be rebuild for 3ds, as long as there's source... ahwell nice to see there's still progress...
 

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,937
Trophies
2
XP
4,328
Country
Germany
Probably never? Haha, I expect a method within the next two months. After all, pretty much everything except loading retail games themselves is possible now. Within the last two weeks, we have DS homebrew channel loading without a game card, AR Cheats without a game card and using a legit game, and SD reading in TWL mode.

BY THE WAY: NTR IS THE DS's CODENAME.

This has nothing to do with NTR CFW, even though it was also based off the DS codename.

yes, all of that may be true, but it still never gets you around the fact that DS retail games try to access specific addresses on the game carts hardware, even if they're started from sd card. its not dynamic. its hard coded. you start the game from sd card and the first thing it'll try to do is load slot1://somefileswhatever. only that, the files it wants to get are actually in sd://
 
  • Like
Reactions: astronautlevel

N7Kopper

Lest we forget... what Nazi stood for.
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
910
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,175
Country
United Kingdom
yes, all of that may be true, but it still never gets you around the fact that DS retail games try to access specific addresses on the game carts hardware, even if they're started from sd card. its not dynamic. its hard coded. you start the game from sd card and the first thing it'll try to do is load slot1://somefileswhatever. only that, the files it wants to get are actually in sd://
Ah, but it is possible. Assuming that you can patch TWL_FIRM or something. Remember that GBA games are similarly hardcoded, and yet AGB_FIRM has no trouble running them from NAND. Emulation and backwards compatibility can be used in conjunction with one another. The later models of PS3 that could run PS2 games used that trick to cut hardware costs.

I'm not going to say that patching TWL_FIRM to be able to redirect a cartridge game's attempts to read and write from and to Slot1:\ to specific ROM and save files on SDMC:\ would be easy. But it is possible. Consider that you can run cheats using TWL_FIRM already. Think about what was done with the Wii's MIOS in the old days.
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,215
Country
United States
Ahezard plans to start with hbmenu as a base for a new rom loader. hbmenu really only doesn't parse overlays right now so that's why retail games don't boot. Homebrew doesn't use overlays. :P

But it's clean and stable and Ahezard decided not to use Wood3DS anymore for further work on this. He might reuse the patching system akmenu used though.

Because of how busy he will be in September it's going to be awhile before he gets serious work into this. So yes there's a good chance we'll get DS games running from SD now. But it's still months away.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Sham Wow!!!