Hacking DS Mode in Emunand

Osga21

Full Time Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
297
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Margem Sul
XP
627
Country
Portugal
I know this falls under the realm of n00b stupid question which has been answered a million times before, but, is it possible to play ds games(flashcart/official game cart) on emunand? I know that usually the answer is no, but I have found a video and people saying that they run ds games under their rxtools emunand. I have rxtools and it does not work for me, as I'd expect, but what are these people doing that I am not?

Link to said video:
 

Tony_93

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
2,455
Trophies
1
Location
California
XP
2,284
Country
United States
So I'm the guy who made that video above xD

At the time I had a problem launching DS games in emunand in that system while the other 3DS would play them just fine, I asked here and many people where clueless about running DS Mode in emunand, it worked for some it didn't for others so I recorded that video to show that it was fixable.

I fixed it by installing DS-WhiteList1.0-0004800F484E4841.cia from that is site in sysnand (FBI: NAND) and also installed it in emunand as well (using BBM this time).

Hope it helps you.
 

evandixon

PMD Researcher
Developer
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
1,725
Trophies
0
Website
projectpokemon.org
XP
2,271
Country
United States
I read somewhere that somewhere along the line, rxTools stopped supporting DS mode to help with compatibility or something. The version I have supports it, but apparently newer versions don't.
 

dpad_5678

Ape weak on own. Ape strong in unity.
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
2,211
Trophies
0
XP
2,680
Country
United States
I read somewhere that somewhere along the line, rxTools stopped supporting DS mode to help with compatibility or something. The version I have supports it, but apparently newer versions don't.
Do you know what version was the last to support DS games?
 

BothyBhoy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
838
Trophies
0
Age
68
XP
309
Country
I read somewhere that somewhere along the line, rxTools stopped supporting DS mode to help with compatibility or something. The version I have supports it, but apparently newer versions don't.
may i enquire as to which version you are running....also if yours is o3ds or n3ds and which system number is your current emunand....please and thank you.....,for your time.....
 

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,873
Trophies
1
XP
3,986
Country
Germany
why cant you just play ds in sysnand? ds mode shouldnt support downloading firmwareupdates and after you exit out of it, you can go back to emunand anyway

in addition to that, the second you start a flashcard from emunand, you're most likely moved to sysnand anyway
 
Last edited by Clydefrosch,

BothyBhoy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
838
Trophies
0
Age
68
XP
309
Country
I know this falls under the realm of n00b stupid question which has been answered a million times before, but, is it possible to play ds games(flashcart/official game cart) on emunand? I know that usually the answer is no, but I have found a video and people saying that they run ds games under their rxtools emunand. I have rxtools and it does not work for me, as I'd expect, but what are these people doing that I am not?

Link to said video:

Can you tell us which version of rxtools you were using also your emunand version number and was it on an o3ds or n3ds......thank you....
 

wurstpistole

GBAtemp MVP
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
4,526
Trophies
1
XP
4,518
Country
United Kingdom
Geh. This again.

If you are on o3ds, it works with rxtools and you may need to install the old white list and/or flashcardtimewarp, depending on what flashcard it is and if it was blocked at some time by firmware updates. I'm fairly certain they need to go on both NANDs, just like a patched agb firm for gba VC.

If you are on n3ds, it works on some old nightly (10-02) of rxtools as well as on newest reinand and cakes. It doesn't work on current rxtools nightlies. Same Whitelist or flashcardtimewarp may be required.

If it just blackscreens, it doesn't work in Emunand. If it shows an error has occurred, the flashcard is blocked and you can try the old white list or flashcardtimewarp. Still this requires that your flashcard has at some point worked on your device. You can't for example make an acekard2i work on n3ds, as it never worked on n3ds, and it also won't help to install old white list. I have a ak2i flying around and while it's recognized as a game cart, it throws me an error has occurred while my r4i gold works fine.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

why cant you just play ds in sysnand? ds mode shouldnt support downloading firmwareupdates and after you exit out of it, you can go back to emunand anyway

in addition to that, the second you start a flashcard from emunand, you're most likely moved to sysnand anyway

While the latter may be true, it's still more convenient to start the flashcard from emunand, you don't have to reboot to sysnand first. It's just a matter of laziness. It's about the same discussion as needing region free in cfw because starting freemultipatcher once is too much work.
 
Last edited by wurstpistole,

BothyBhoy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
838
Trophies
0
Age
68
XP
309
Country
Geh. This again.

If you are on o3ds, it works with rxtools and you may need to install the old white list and/or flashcardtimewarp.

If you are on n3ds, it works on some old nightly (10-02) of rxtools as well as on newest reinand and cakes. It doesn't work on current rxtools nightlies. Same Whitelist or flashcardtimewarp may be required.

If it just blackscreens, it doesn't work in Emunand. If it shows an error has occurred, the flashcard is blocked and you can try the old white list or flashcardtimewarp. Still this requires that your flashcard has at some point worked on your device. You can't for example make an acekard2i work on n3ds, as it never worked on n3ds, and it also won't help to install old white list.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



While the latter may be true, it's still more convenient to start the flashcard from emunand, you don't have to reboot to sysnand first. It's just a matter of laziness. It's about the same discussion as needing region free in cfw because starting freemultipatcher once is too much work.
great thank you for that....
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,687
Trophies
1
XP
12,480
Country
Mexico
Just forget about rxTools if you want to be able to boot DS and DSiWare from emunand.
rxTools has a lot of issues with this and I don't think they'll be fixed anytime soon.

I recommend using ReiNAND MOD made by Aurora Wright for this kind of thing.
I was also struggling to get rxTools working, some said use the Oct. 2nd version, some said to wait, etc etc.

Reinand is just easy to setup, no fancy things, just get the latest firmware.bin from Aurora Wright in that iso site and you're good to go!

I currently have my N3DS emunand running DSiWare and DS flashcard from emunand without problems. :)
 

TDotFlame

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
53
Country
Canada
would this work for a ttds?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

so I guess the original R4 and original TTDS won't work?
 

AtlasFontaine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
1,095
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Venezuela-Zulia.
XP
831
Country
Venezuela
Just forget about rxTools if you want to be able to boot DS and DSiWare from emunand.
rxTools has a lot of issues with this and I don't think they'll be fixed anytime soon.

I recommend using ReiNAND MOD made by Aurora Wright for this kind of thing.
I was also struggling to get rxTools working, some said use the Oct. 2nd version, some said to wait, etc etc.

Reinand is just easy to setup, no fancy things, just get the latest firmware.bin from Aurora Wright in that iso site and you're good to go!

I currently have my N3DS emunand running DSiWare and DS flashcard from emunand without problems. :)
I wanted to switch to Reinand, but there is not O3DS support :(
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Are people out there really spending $100 on fans...