DS-DOS

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Urza, Mar 16, 2008.

Mar 16, 2008

DS-DOS by Urza at 6:31 PM (3,185 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    DS-DOS
    MS-DOS clone
    [​IMG]

    Shawn Winkels has released a new file browser, in the form of an MS-DOS clone. Currently, it allows you to view/copy/move/delete/rename files, and boot other homebrew. Download and full list of currently implemented commands below.

    Commands

    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source
     
  2. ThomasWii

    Member ThomasWii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Keyboard dun work on my R4 [​IMG]
     
  3. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Now I'm waiting for noobs.

    "OMG WAI DUZN'T WERK! TIZ IS DOS RIGHT? HOW IT WERKS KTNXBAI"

    Btw, nice idea [​IMG]
     
  4. MagNetCZ

    Member MagNetCZ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    Prague
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    It's neat but I don't see why would anyone use it over the other file managers since it's just a DOS clone and not DOS itself, gotta say tho a real DOS emu would be lovely [​IMG]

    Maybe for some quick file movement, maybe.

    Wonder if it at least supports bat files.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i remember reading about a dosbox port to the nds the sametime the version for the psp was being worked on. the nds was just to slow to make use of it so the project was dropped. if i can find a good reliable link with info i will edit this post.

    -aw
     
  6. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    When I saw the title, I thought this was a DOS emulator. [​IMG]
    (A DOSBox port COULD work, but it'd need crazy optimizations and tweaks)

    DOS is so much more than a file browser, so the name of this thing is just misleading.
    Make a port of telnet and I'll be happy to call it DOS [​IMG]
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. llxwarbirdxll

    Newcomer llxwarbirdxll Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    A file manager? I was hoping it could run actual DOS games.
     
  9. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    Just another Dirty Operating System ...
     
  10. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    thats cool and all... I just prefer DSO when I dont have access to my own computer... [​IMG]
     
  11. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    this project was a waste of time IMO. not just for the dev, but for those who view(ed) this thread..

    If you're going to call it DS-DOS, it better be what the title suggests, not just some lame file browser.
     
  12. leavemealone347

    Member leavemealone347 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Your a moron. Some people program for the fun of it. If this is what the guy wanted to make then more power to him.
     
  13. Seina

    Newcomer Seina Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    How long is it supposed to say "Starting DS-DOS..."? I haven't seen it complete starting on DSTT or R4.
     
  14. Firecard_master

    Newcomer Firecard_master Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the same problem..... I Tried dldi Patching it and it didnt work!
     

Share This Page