Dreamcast PSU

Isakill

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
105
Country
United States
Bought a DC from Ebay a few months ago and finally got around to really getting to know it. I was looking into buying a GDEMU and everywhere says don't plug into a VA2.1 mobo because those drives operate higher than 3.3 volts. And my DC is a VA2.1. I asked this same question on Reddit but noone answered, so I thought I'd ask here.

Will the PSU from my stock VA2.1 DC blow a VA1 motherboard? If not, I'll buy a replacement VA1, and a GDEMU to go with it.

Or, what are my other options with this version of DC? a MODE is out of the question the wife would kill me. lol
 

driverdis

I am Justice
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
2,835
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
1.048596β
XP
2,517
Country
United States
I put a GDEMU in my VA0 (5V drive) and it runs fine for me. the reason it is not recommended is that the components of the GDEMU are not officially rated for 5V so they can technically fail from overvoltage and can make components overheat within a short amount of time. I have not seen any of the telltale signs of it being 5V intolerant despite what others and the GDEMU installation guide mention such as logic problems or overheating.

Mine runs cool, has not fried or overheated itself or any SD cards, and the I/O logic is working 100% with no crashes, disc errors, or other issues that should arise had the GDEMU not been able to handle 5V, both power wise and logic level wise.
 
Last edited by driverdis,

zfreeman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
1,407
Trophies
0
Location
Pennsylvania
XP
2,971
Country
United States
Last edited by zfreeman,
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,473
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,314
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

A good transition to the topic of Power Supply.
Ordered from Aliexpress:
https://de.aliexpress.com/item/4001282468258.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.13544c4dliKR6m

Ohne Titeuul-2.jpg

Should be delivered in the next Days.:)

Also this:
https://de.aliexpress.com/item/4000849411780.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.13544c4dliKR6m

Ohne Titel-3 Kopie.jpg Ohne Titel-4.jpg
 

TangentingTangerines

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2015
Messages
115
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,610
Country
United States
You can just burn games.
The games you burn are often compressed or have content cut out to fit on a CD-R which are half the size of Dreamcast GD=ROMs. Not to mention the convenience of being able to easily add and remove games off a sd card, and being able to preserve your DC laser/replace a non-functional one. Plenty of reasons to go for a GDemu.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
The games you burn are often compressed or have content cut out to fit on a CD-R which are half the size of Dreamcast GD=ROMs. Not to mention the convenience of being able to easily add and remove games off a sd card, and being able to preserve your DC laser/replace a non-functional one. Plenty of reasons to go for a GDemu.
I was making a joke.
 

Isakill

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
105
Country
United States
You can just burn games.

Not with this one. It was built after OCT of 2000. VA2.1 versions apparently broke the game burning thing.
Either that, or my actual drive is toast. Can't test without a legit game disc.

When you install a GDEMU or USB-GDROM in your Dreamcast, the 12v load needed for the disc drive to run is not needed anymore. The voltage spikes on the 12v rail and the unit starts to overheat from the excess voltage.

Since there isn't anything that needs 12v power in the Dreamcast anymore, you can add a PicoPSU, or add a 12v resistor, fan, etc. to keep the unit from overheating.

https://videogameperfection.com/2018/05/24/picopsu-dreamcast-review/

https://github.com/chriz2600/PicoDreamcast

I'll look into this one I have plenty of thumbdrives laying around

Thank you for the replies. This helps!


Edit: I stand corrected to HylianBran. I bought a legit Copy of Frogger 2 today and determined that the drive wasnt reading discs. Did a trim on it until it would load Frogger, and then for giggles, tried a butned copy of Capcom vs SNK.

Ill be damned if I didnt get my ass beat! It worked, albeit really noisey.
 
Last edited by Isakill,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Well when my Wii is broke, I might need some emotional support lol