Dragon Quest V - M3 DS Simply

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by BadAnimal, Feb 12, 2010.

Feb 12, 2010
  1. BadAnimal
    OP

    Member BadAnimal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I did search the forums and didn't find anything.

    I have a yes or no question.

    Is there a version of Dragon Quest V out there that will run on a M3 DS Simply?

    The version I have works, kinda, I can't get the boat to dock which I know is a protection problem.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. takeshi10123

    Newcomer takeshi10123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    wirral
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it is.
     
  3. BadAnimal
    OP

    Member BadAnimal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! and it works on version 1.14 of the OS?
     
  4. BadAnimal
    OP

    Member BadAnimal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, this is turning into more than a Yes or No question.

    I have a patched ROM but it is not working, is there anything I need to do additionally to make it work on my DS Simply?
     
  5. BadAnimal
    OP

    Member BadAnimal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I have tried 3 different files (roms). Unpatched, patched, with cheat.dat.

    The game runs but I can't get off of the boat. Yes, I know to talk to everyone and the boat should dock but it never does.

    So, has anyone played this game on a M3 DS Simply and gotten the boat to dock?

    If yes, can you tell me how you did it please?

    Thank you.
     
  6. Terenigma

    Member Terenigma Terenigma everywhere

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you tried the 2nd time with it patched / using the cheat.dat did you delete the .sav file each time? if not then try deleting the .sav file of the game and re-running it with the patched version so it re-creates the save file

    goodluck
     
  7. BadAnimal
    OP

    Member BadAnimal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    I did, each time. Thanks for the reply and suggestion!
     
  8. Terenigma

    Member Terenigma Terenigma everywhere

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I never had trouble using this but if i remeber correctly the boat piracy was right at the start wasnt it?

    If thats the case i think this is still on my flashcart so ill load it up start a new game and save past the boat bit and then send you the .sav file and you can see if that works.

    give me 20 or so mins
     
  9. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    the anti piracy is at the start of boat

    its been a while so i can't remember clearly how to get off the boat
    i think you need to speak with everyone then go back to your room and speak with the father or captain...
    anyhow, make sure you talk to everyone two/three times should help...

    m3ds simply using the game enabler code should solve the problem
    the code should be on all the time because as far as i know
    having the code off my cause some game breaking problem
    when i say game breaking that means you can't further proceed with the storyline [​IMG]
     
  10. Terenigma

    Member Terenigma Terenigma everywhere

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Hmm well i enabled the game fix on the cheat.dat and i got off the boat easily by talking to everyone once im not even sure i spoke to everyone but i had no problem getting off the boat just now but if what your sayin bout the game breaking without the game fix as you continue then a simple .sav fix wont work [​IMG]

    but if you wanna try i saved in the first town a bit of dialoge passed but not too much basically you and your dad have come back home and everyone is greeting his return yarda yarda lol also i named the main dude "hero" hope thats cool lol check your inbox for the location of the file coz i dont wanna risk getting warned for posting it here
     
  11. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i am chill with it [​IMG]
    i hope you can help the topic starter...

    why am i saying game breaking, because i had personally encounter twice

    first time, when i restart the game without the code ... hero was beamed to his castle and there isn't anyway i could get out of it...

    second time, i could not visit the spirit world during the later stage of the game
     
  12. BadAnimal
    OP

    Member BadAnimal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the replies guys!! I obtained yet another file last night and used the cheat.dat and finally got off the boat!

    Thanks again for the suggestions!!
     

Share This Page