Dragon Quest are they all the same for different console?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by kylster, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. kylster
    OP

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    Alright so I just got done playing DQ:Mask of the Queen for the Wii and it only took me 13hrs to beat it including the Mirror Boss's (well I stopped on the 1st Purple Mirror) aside from all that I believe the game is entirely too short; while this is just my own personal opinion I would like to know if all the other "Dragon Quest" games varying across multiple consoles are just as short? Is the story line the same or do they switch it up?

    The game play was decent though I was reluctant to even play it because of the FP view.

    Is there any particular "Dragon Quest" that you would recommend over the others? Kind of like how people recommend "Final Fantasy VII" vs "Final Fantasy XIII". Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Vigilante

    Member Vigilante TempLurker

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,555
    Location:
    CyberSpace IQ:OVER 9000
    Country:
    Philippines
    Dragon Quest short?!
    You seriously have to play Dragon Quest 7 and 8 and the and the ones on the DS.

    Dragon Quest 8 took me like 70 hours to beat and Dragon Quest 7 around 40 hours and haven't beaten it yet and the ones on the DS are about 25-30 hours long so you will be expecting a long time playing those.
    Well the one you played was a spinoff that was why it was short,if you want it long play the main series.
     
  3. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    they are ALOT diferent the Dragon Quest Swords
    they are RPGs

    try XI for the DS

    it WIll last a LONG time


    DQVII (for the ps1) it a VERY long game t thnk i had 100h when i got to the end (i did do grinding for money and EXP)
     
  4. Vigilante

    Member Vigilante TempLurker

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,555
    Location:
    CyberSpace IQ:OVER 9000
    Country:
    Philippines
    Never mind,wrong post.
     
  5. kylster
    OP

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    So basically all the DQ games for DS are worth playing :) I'll look up 7 & 8 and give those a try; but yeah I do enjoy long gameplay as a Final Fantasy fan boy this is the first time ever playing DQ so I cannot form a proper opinion albeit if it's a spin off then yeah... LoL Thanks for your suggestion guys :)
     
  6. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Play DQ VIII on PCSX2 emulator, preferable with a 360 controller. Works brilliantly, just amazing, I completed the game this way. Around 85 hours IIRC.
    Video:

    [yt]tXzDTh3ijJ8[/yt]

    If your PC is good enough (especially CPU), you can play the game in better resolutions than the PS2 even could, it's fucking epic, trust me. So worth the somewhat hassle of configuring the emulator.
     
  7. kylster
    OP

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    I could never get that emulator to work on my laptop and it's a Satellite A505 :(
     
  8. Vigilante

    Member Vigilante TempLurker

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,555
    Location:
    CyberSpace IQ:OVER 9000
    Country:
    Philippines
    Well I would recommend to just buy a Ps2 since its allot cheaper than buying a powerful pc to emulate DQ8.
     
  9. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    What CPU do you have? Give it another try with the more recent builds + ask on their forums (they are very helpful) to help you optimize it.
     
  10. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    dragon quest IV is pretty long. but spinoff games are too short i'm at chapter 8 in DQ mirrors so yeah...
     
  11. kylster
    OP

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 12/31/2011, 13:06:48
    Machine name: ******
    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
    System Model: Satellite A505
    BIOS: InsydeH2O Version 1.40
    Processor: Intel® Core™ i3 CPU M 330 @ 2.13GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.1GHz
    Memory: 4096MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 3894MB RAM
    Page File: 2926MB used, 4861MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found.
    This is copied directly form [windows] dxdiag [enter]

    @DJPlace: I just noticed your Sig. and the name at the bottom :) I usually go by UnholySIN, Sinota, SinsRequim when playing Online LoL and the occasional Cumindeye LoL seriously.
     
  12. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    What graphic chip is it using? Since its an i3, I would guess its an Intel HD3000 series? Those are not the best for gaming, but should be enough.
    Anyway, the CPU should defenetly be enough. I emulate Wii at playable framerates (barely) with an turion x2 1.8Ghz, 2GB DDR2 ram and GeForce 8400G.
     
  13. kylster
    OP

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    I don't really know as this is my wifes laptop that I got her for our anniversary last year LoL. She didn't have one and I got tired of her using mine LoL btw my laptop is a Asus A8Jr so yeah.... LoL
     
  14. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    There must be more model numbers than that, a quick google resulted in a truckload of different specs lol. Anyway, it should say in device manager under "display adapters".
    Funny thing though - the first result on google was "Asus A8JR - Worst notebook in history" lol.
     
  15. kylster
    OP

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    My wifes computer I bought from bestbuy and my A8Jr i bought off newegg.com
     
  16. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Dragon Quest IX for the DS.

    150 hours, and I think I have like 77% completion.
     

Share This Page