1. molotof1

    OP molotof1 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Hello. Can someone tell me how can i downgrade my 3ds?
    Can i do it by formatting my 3ds?
     
  2. SifJar

    SifJar Not a pirate
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    The 3DS cannot be downgraded at this time.
     
  3. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    have have to have already made a NAND backup with the 3DS to be able to return to it
     
  4. soulrazor

    soulrazor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Country:

    For now you can't unless you have a nand dump from YOUR 3ds before the upgrade(using another 3ds nand dump will render it useless)
     
  5. ichichfly

    ichichfly GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    You can downgrade if you have a NAND backup with the Version you want to downgrade to. Or access to the I/O register of the 3DS you want to downgrade.
     
  6. Rockstead

    Rockstead GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    Does a NAND backup require soldering a JTAG type device? Or is it done through software after the Gateway is installed?

    Is there a non soldering plug and play type solution?
     
  7. FireGrey

    FireGrey Undercover Admin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921
    Country:
    You have to of done the NAND Backup before you updated and if you actually did a NAND Backup before updating, you would know that it lets you downgrade, so everyone's advice seems pretty pointless.
    In short, No you cannot downgrade your 3DS, so no gateway for you sucka!
     
    IronClouds likes this.
  8. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    nukeboy95 likes this.
  9. pasc

    pasc Newbie

    BTW:
    Since I've been wondering this:

    What'd happen if you wrote another 3DS Backup to your 3DS.
     
  10. ov3rkill

    ov3rkill GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    Australia
    ^bricked 3DS.
     
  11. Spzjulien

    Spzjulien GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    France

    wahooo u the winer !!! u the 10 000th to ask same question without research !!!
    u win 1$ coupon discount for free pizza ... lucky u !
     
  12. Chaldron

    Chaldron GBATemp's Official Attorney
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    434
    Country:
    United States

    It'd be bricked. Two 3DS, while they may look the same, cannot run each others backup. The only "exploit" I saw in that thread would be that you take a NAND backup, system transfer your eShop games and such to another 3DS, and then flash your NAND backup, creating 2 copies of the game.
     
  13. pasc

    pasc Newbie

    Sure, we *know* it would be bricked...

    Howver , bricked as in:

    not turning on again,

    or bricked as:

    not turning on again, yet still able to flash your previoulsy created nand back ?
     
  14. profi200

    profi200 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    With a hardware dump method it is impossible to fully brick your 3DS. You can always write a good image back.
     
  15. pasc

    pasc Newbie

    like i thought.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Downgrade,