Does the M3 Real GBA cart work with GBA ExpLoader?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Destructobot, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    First off, I don't have a slot 1 M3 cart and I'm not looking to buy another slot 1 cart at this point.

    GBA ExpLoader used to support the M3 GBA Expansion, but then Rudolph stopped developing it. I think the M3 GBA expansion underwent some sort of hardware change at some point (similar to the revisions made to the EZ-Flash 3-in-1), so if I buy one now, will it still work with GBA ExpLoader?

    I know I could get a 3-in-1 (which would be supported directly by my cycloDS), but I don't need rumble and I'd like to have the full 32MB of RAM for homebrew.


    Edit: I'm talking about playing GBA games, not using GBA ExpLoader to set the cart to RAM expansion mode.
     
  2. DukeDizko

    Member DukeDizko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Hola.

    Dunno if that is what you want to know exactly, but I guess so!
    I would try GBA ExpLoader myself as I got a M3 Real GBA Pack since two weeks, but I didn't came across "what the tool does". Will have to read about that.
     
  3. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    I believe the last official version that was released that worked with the M3 GBA Expansion Pak was 0.58.

    I believe a 0.58b was released and the support was removed for M3 products but someone also created an IPS patch to patch it back in.

    You would also be able to find the patched version somewhere.
     
  4. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the replies. What I want to know is, was there actually a hardware revision to the M3 GBA cart, and if so, does the new hardware version still work with the versions of GBA ExpLoader that support the M3 GBA cart?
     
  5. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    I honestly can't say I know of a hardware revision. I also know that I purchased my two GBA Expansion Paks more than a year apart and both woked with gba exploader fine.

    Much prefer them with M3 Real as you get RTS with gba games that way [​IMG]
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It still does, but if you have a M3 slot one you need the 0.58X patched verion.

    This is what it looks like if you gotta still REALLY ask if it does:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    You can read this man's little mac adventure to know the answer from someone else:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=202700
     
  7. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you, H.D.I.D.T., that's what I wanted to hear.
     

Share This Page