does backup launcher gamma disable disk updates?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by dave_m123, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. dave_m123
    OP

    Newcomer dave_m123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I've recently softmodded a wii for a friend that was version 3.1 firmware. A week after I did this I just found out about starfall and the disk update check. I managed to disable it on my wii and told my friend that I'd need to do his. I've just recieved his wii to sort out and find it is now on version 3.4E on the firmware and I know starfall won't work on that version. Now I've looked at downgrading to 3.2 but am unable to get the internet connected on this.

    I've heard that one of the backup loaders disables the disk update option to avoid any new firmware from being put on. Will backup launcher gamma stop autoupdates of the disk. Parental controls are also enabled will they stop the updates from occuring as the update option in the wii system menu asks for the pin number but I'mnot sure if the disk option is the same.

    Thanks for any help given.
     
  2. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah gamma bypasses updates, starfall disabled and skips updates asewell
     
  3. dave_m123
    OP

    Newcomer dave_m123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    So basically if a game has an update on it such a US or Japanese game then it wont update the firmware to a newer version that is say japanese or us and brick the wii? I'm from the UK so its a pal Wii.

    If gamma bypasses updates is there any point to selecting the option in starfall?

    Sorry if I'm a bit confused but so much info!!

    Thanks v much.
     
  4. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    starfall is really for skipping updates from original discs, or modchip users who load through disc chan, so yeah you don't have to install it, but with it patched via starfall, when you insert a new original game like NFSU it wont show UPDATE...etc get me?
     
  5. dave_m123
    OP

    Newcomer dave_m123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Ah yes thank you so really I'm pretty much safe then?

    Makes sense now thank you [​IMG]!!! Is it ok to leave it at 3.4
     
  6. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah perfectly safe, happy gaming [​IMG] going to be a while till games have 3.4+ hehe
     

Share This Page