1. M1sc

    OP M1sc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Romania
    Hello,

    I've just replaced my dock case with a smaller one, which totally exposes the switch.

    Is there a way of making use of the switch screen while docked? Since I could theoretically just it in the dock and play "tabletop" while charging at the same time, instead of using the flimsy kick stand.
     
  2. Csmrcc

    Csmrcc GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    395
    Country:
    Spain
    There are other stands which are you to charge and play like that. For like 14 Euros on Amazon.
     
  3. M1sc

    OP M1sc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Romania
    True, but they are not original Nintendo docks, and from what I've read they cause issues.
     
  4. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,510
    Country:
    United States
    Unplug the dock from power when you want to do tabletop maybe?
     
  5. M1sc

    OP M1sc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Romania
    Well, then it doesn't charge does it? Like I said in the original post, I wanna know if there's a way to keep it docked+charging and still be able to use the screen of the switch itself.

    Something like Editing a config file so it won't go into TV mode, or a hombrew that blocks TV mode.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
  6. Ludicario

    Ludicario Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    France
    You should use a charging stand instead. It seems to be the best accessorie for your needs.

    But if you're the kind of guy into modding, you could find a way to install a switch on your actual stand to power the USB-C without powering the dock PCB containing the TV-mode chip.
     
  7. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,313
    Country:
    Poland
    Currently we don't have a software way to prevent from switching to docked mode.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Docked, Switch, Screen