do DVD+R's work for Backups?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Andres g22, Dec 22, 2008.

Dec 22, 2008
  1. Andres g22
    OP

    Newcomer Andres g22 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Every Guide i've seen has or says something about DVD-R's i wanted to know if i could use DVD+R's for Wii Backups. they're alot cheaper than the -R's >.<
    so please someone answer my question: Can I use DVD+R's for wii backups?
     
  2. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    yes you can.... however some wii's do have issues w/ them...
    you will have to set the booktype to dvd-rom...
    -kitt00383
     
  3. El Capitaine

    Newcomer El Capitaine Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    yes, they do.

    I only use DVD+Rs, and I have yet to have a backup not work for me (I always backup NTSC discs and run WiiBrickBlcoker first, just in case)

    Just make sure the booktype is DVD-ROM. I use Nero 8, and it has the ability to do this.
     
  4. Capn_Makeveli

    Newcomer Capn_Makeveli Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Here's the guide that I used to find out how to set the booktype.
    DVD+R booktype setting

    Hope this helps. [​IMG]
     
  5. rootbeerking

    Newcomer rootbeerking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I too only use DVD+R, no problems at all with them.
     
  6. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    My wii hates +r it just says disk error all the time even though book type is set to -r, -r how ever work fine my wii also wont load dvd9 [​IMG]
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Wich ones have issues with DVD+R?? everyone uses them, pffff the people is having troubles finding how to set the BookType to DVD-ROM, that's what happends, I even saw some post saying that they don't change the BookType at all....!!! [​IMG]
     
  8. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    some wii's even if the booktype is set... it will not play mainly korean....
    -kitt050383

    you don't have to tell me about booktype look at my sig....
     
  9. rldowling03

    Newcomer rldowling03 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I always use DVD+R and they have all worked great.

    I dont even have to set the booktype on them to DVD-ROM and they still work fine

    I guess its just up to how your Wii wants to take them
     
  10. Daku93

    Member Daku93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    If you burn With Nero an your Burner is compatible, Nero will automaticaly set the Booktype to DVD-Rom
     
  11. Andres g22
    OP

    Newcomer Andres g22 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    i burn with imgburn. o.o
     
  12. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    booktype setting is only with select drives not with all dvd burners right?
     

Share This Page