DivX, XviD, Codecs and WildWon

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by WildWon, Oct 13, 2008.

Oct 13, 2008
  1. WildWon
    OP

Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

United States
    Alright guys,

So i've been messing around with computers for 20 years now, and i've had my time of knowing what the fuck i'm talking about, but, as is with anyone that gets older, i'm needing help with something probably very simple.

Years back, when i first started effing around with codecs, there were simple packages of what was needed. I got a package, installed it, and i've had no problems over the years.

Now a friend has a new computer (well, used from another friend) and i want to get the proper codecs for him. I have done a few searches and i've found that there are tons of packs available, but the only problem is that a lot of them are bloated to shit and back with all kinds of useless programs and other little things that i don't think he'll need.

Could someone give me a listing of the most basic codecs to find? Or maybe just point me in the right direction of the smallest package to pick up? He just wants to be able to use WMP and he's not one for doing much else. So i'm not needing converters, players, editors, or debug programs. Just the most basic of the codecs that will allow him to watch a majority of whatever it is he wants to watch.

Any thoughts? Thanks!

2. jHoNDoE

Newcomer jHoNDoE Member

United States
  3. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    CCCP is designed just for this (I too have similar requirements for various machines and I use this instead of making my own custom package) but it tends to eschew windows media player in favour of something good.
    http://www.cccp-project.net/

However you can set it to not change the player, just do not be surprised when WMP falls over with something slightly out of the norm.

4. lagman

Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

Mexico
  5. WildWon
    OP