Disable Hardsubs possible ?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Youkai, May 7, 2011.

May 7, 2011

Disable Hardsubs possible ? by Youkai at 8:33 PM (2,391 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Youkai
    OP

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    Well I think its not possible to Disable hardsubs but asking doesn't hurt right ? ^^

    I am watching "Being Human" right now and the francais hardsub does annoy me pretty much cuz even thaught I do not speak francais I allways look down to the sub automatically which doesn't really help me to concentrate to understand the English series (well i understand most but I am not nativ english speaking so its sorta hard without concentrating)
     
  2. Bunie

    Member Bunie #1 Princess

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Pleasureville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    No. Hardsubs are encoded into the video. [​IMG]
     
  3. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe if there was an auto fill option (like in photoshop cs4 and cs5) in adobe premiere pro or after effects?
    It would still take lots of time.

    But besides that or years of wasting your time, no it's not possible. What about downloading the movie without subs?
     
  4. Youkai
    OP

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    If i would have found it i would have done so XD
    and it didn't say its francaise subed [​IMG]

    well k ...
    would have hoped for a chance to crop them out with some shader or something *cry*
     
  5. Goveynetcom

    Newcomer Goveynetcom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Sunny California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, just re-download a version that's not hardsubbed if it bothers you so much, if it's an English series should be easy enough to find in original format.

    And it's already been mentioned but the subtitles are encoded over the video.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You'll have about as much success as trying to take a picture of a person, and remove the person to see what's behind him.
     
  7. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes like content-aware (that was the name, I forgot it) in Photoshop.
    Nice feature that is...
     
  8. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Of course there is a way to make hardsusbs disappear.

    1. cut a piece of black paper about the width of your screen and about the same height as subs takes on your screen
    2. attach the piece of paper on the bottom of your screen

    [​IMG]

    but seriously, unless you retouch every frame, there is no quick way out.
    downloading it again is the easiest way out but we can't talk about dl sources and option here so the conversation is pretty much at a dead end.

    btw français spells with a little thingy below the c (right alt + 231 on the numpad)
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Content-aware fill doesn't actually restore what was behind the picture. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page