Different sorts of dumping

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by robiul, Jan 19, 2009.

Jan 19, 2009

Different sorts of dumping by robiul at 1:07 PM (1,147 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    I know the wii has a number of different applications, what are the number of ways you can dump, I know 2 already, pc > rawdump and wi-fi dumping, what other ways are there, I'm looking for ways to dump my originals.
     
  2. mcj

    Member mcj GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
  3. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    okay okay
     
  4. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    ok I've managed to use dvd dumper, I'm using it through wi-fi, however it doesn't dump the whole of the game, about 386mb of it, why is that?
     
  5. X D D X

    Member X D D X GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Might be because of your browser? Try changing and see if it works. It also dumps Via the Wii SD slot which i prefer over the Wifi.
     
  6. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Which browser would you recommend?
     
  7. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    opera worked flawlessly so far
     
  8. X D D X

    Member X D D X GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I've never tried Dumping over Wifi but i heard people saying that Firefox doesn't work properly. It might work for you or might not, you should try different browsers and see what works.
     
  9. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    I'd try FTPii. Recent versions support downloading individual files directly from disc, or downloading an image of the entire disc. You'll probably need an FTP program to use it, I'd try Filezilla. It's free and it works great with FTPii.
     
  10. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Ive had 2 faulty dumps using the WiFi method on firefox. Of cours thats out of like 7.

    If you know how, set up a download manager to download the ISO. A lot more reliable. But make sure the settings are right for the download (like only 1 connection)
     
  11. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Firefox works perfectly for me.

    It could be an issue with the wireless network, ie. a dropout or bad reception causing the dump to fail.

    For me, dumping was freezing about 50% of the time through my wireless connection, but I invested in a LAN adapter, and ever since I've had a 100% success rate (and the speed is a teeny bit faster).
     
  12. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Could someone explain to me how they dump a game using ftp, isn't that for exploring SD?
     
  13. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    OK just tried with opera, still getting the same problem.

    BTW is there a chance that the USB speeds will improve with future releases?
     

Share This Page