Hardware Did anyone order the famicom 3DS?

icecreamcake

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
Got the shipping info from Nintendo, searched the tracking number and it was not found. Hopefully it's because the package didn't update properly instead of my package getting lost.

Is anyone able to track the shipping info?

I have a feeling it will be on the latest firmware.
 

icecreamcake

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
Too bad for the firmware. It's the nicest looking 3DS and I'm not sure if I want to get it hardmodded. I hope it will come with good screens.

Checked again and still no tracking info. It was supposedly sent out yesterday and I'm getting worried.
 

anthonyplep

(´ε` )
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
345
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Ohio
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,023
Country
United States
Too bad for the firmware. It's the nicest looking 3DS and I'm not sure if I want to get it hardmodded. I hope it will come with good screens.

Checked again and still no tracking info. It was supposedly sent out yesterday and I'm getting worried.
For what it's worth, if they gave you a tracking number, just be patient. It's completely normal for tracking info to not update so soon. It could take a few days. You bought it from Nintendo so there's absolutely no reason to get worried :)
 

eyeliner

Has an itch needing to be scratched.
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
2,334
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,194
Country
Portugal
Beautiful looking console. Sparked my "WANT!" nerve.
No money to spend on more gaming systems, though.
 

icecreamcake

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
Whoever mods it would be able to do a temporary hardmod and downgrade the firmware without putting a hole in the case.

Oh really? How does a temporary hardmod work?

It comes with the latest firmware. I already posted 2 threads with pictures here. Mine came today with FedEx Priority Mail.

Where did you order yours? Mine is from Nintendo. I had it sent to a forwarding service and will get it shipped via EMS. I moved to a new location an plan to get something else sent to my current location as a test before I get the 3DS sent here, to make sure mail delivers properly. I'm that paranoid.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
8,524
Trophies
1
XP
15,314
Country
United Kingdom
Oh really? How does a temporary hardmod work?
They'd open up the case, disassemble enough to get to the nand chip and solder the wires to it, then mostly reassemble with the wires hanging out of the case. Then power up and do the downgrade shenanigans using the hardmod, then disassemble again and disconnect the wires, before putting the case back on properly.
 

icecreamcake

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
They'd open up the case, disassemble enough to get to the nand chip and solder the wires to it, then mostly reassemble with the wires hanging out of the case. Then power up and do the downgrade shenanigans using the hardmod, then disassemble again and disconnect the wires, before putting the case back on properly.

Does it cost extra for temporary hardmod? What's a reason to choose it over permanent hardmod? I know nothing about hardmods. If someone can explain the basics to me and provide personal experience it would be great.
 

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
5,964
Trophies
2
Age
23
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
5,445
Country
Portugal
Does it cost extra for temporary hardmod? What's a reason to choose it over permanent hardmod? I know nothing about hardmods. If someone can explain the basics to me and provide personal experience it would be great.
A temporary hardmod, as the name implies, is removed after using it. A permanent hardmod will most likely require you to make a hole in the case for the wires/port. Ofc, a permanent hardmod is more useful in the long run, but a temp hardmod doesn't leave any traces. Though u have to solder it in place every time you want to use it.

Sent from my Nokia 3310 using Tapatalk
 

icecreamcake

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
A temporary hardmod, as the name implies, is removed after using it. A permanent hardmod will most likely require you to make a hole in the case for the wires/port. Ofc, a permanent hardmod is more useful in the long run, but a temp hardmod doesn't leave any traces. Though u have to solder it in place every time you want to use it.

Sent from my Nokia 3310 using Tapatalk

Soldering a 3DS at every use seems like a good way to quickly destroy. If I choose a hardmod I'd probably go all the way and get permanent. My next question is are hardmods likely to break. The solder wires look fragile.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
8,524
Trophies
1
XP
15,314
Country
United Kingdom
Every time you want to use the hardmod, not every time you want to use the 3DS. Doing it once would be enough to downgrade it, then you shouldn't need the hardmod again unless you get an unrecoverable brick - which should never happen once you're using a9lh.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/VfCYZ3pks48