Dial-up internet

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by dudenator, Jan 17, 2010.

Jan 17, 2010

Dial-up internet by dudenator at 11:18 PM (964 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. dudenator
    OP

    Member dudenator King of the Carts

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    Alberta
    Country:
    Canada
    I am forced to use a dial up internet connection that goes at about 48kbps. But I can only get it going at about 4kbps in utorrent or direct download. This is horrible as it takes about 10 minutes to get 1mb. Please help.
     
  2. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Get a new ISP or get ADSL2+
     
  3. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There's not much that can be done for dialup; the best you could get with a standard modem is about 6KB/second download. This is because in order to get higher speeds the modem would have to put too much voltage on the line, which violates telecom regulations.
     
  4. flameiguana

    Member flameiguana that's not me

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Dialup cannot go 48 kilbytes per second. kpbs are kilobits. The highest download speed you can get with a 56kpbs connection is a about 5-6KB/s. There is no way to increase the speed.
     
  5. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Dialup?

    What ISP do you use? According to your 'profile country', you're in Canada.
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,349
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    ^THIS
     
  7. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Change isp as others have said. If adsl isn't available, then look into other alternatives such as wireless, or satellite (as a last resort). You won't get any faster on a dialup connection.
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,422
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Windows had (I don't know if it still has) an option to double the speed by connecting 2 dial-up adapter on 2 different phone lines at the same time.
    but, I'm sure this is not an acceptable solution for you [​IMG]
     
  9. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but I think most isps don't allow you to do that anymore or they charge extra.....
     
  10. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Use Opera Turbo to make the web seem faster
     
  11. flameiguana

    Member flameiguana that's not me

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    And uglier :< It compresses images.


    When I was on dialup (not long ago), I used Opera without Turbo boost and got some decent page loading speeds. Don't use Firefox with a dialup connection, as it is a bandwidth whore and pages will occasionally not load at all.
     
  12. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch, dial-up......I remember those days. I didn't know people were still using that as their primary way of connecting to the net anymore, only as an emergency backup for when their real connection's modem died or something.

    I feel for ya man.
     
  13. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    XVolution is still on dial-up.
     

Share This Page