Diablo II Font Fix

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rydian, Aug 19, 2012.

Aug 19, 2012

Diablo II Font Fix by Rydian at 8:39 PM (1,554 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.snakebytestudios.com/projects/mods/diablo-2-mods/
    At the bottom, a small mod to fix the numbers 5 and 6 in the Diablo II game font.

    Am I the only one that was driven crazy by this issue? I remember I'd always wonder why shields would give 26% block chance and crap like that, until I realized I wasn't just seeing 6, I was also seeing 5's that looked like 6's...
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I don't remember I had any issue.
    Maybe I really thought they were a 6, and played all along like it was. I didn't care and didn't prevent me completing the game.
    I was more crazy by the forced 800*600 D:
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
  4. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I went a whole run of the game (normal only) without seeing a single 5, so I was pretty perplexed...
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    oh, that looks very nice in HD :D
    the UI is very small lol, but I used keyboard shortcut most of the time.
     
  6. Psionic Roshambo

    Member Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,711
    Country:
    United States
    800X600 is fine on the old aspect ratio monitors, these days on the wide screen monitors its painful :(

    I would still be playing Diablo II but it looks like crap on my monitor, so love that game. I hope Diablo III gets better after an expansion and some patches...
     
  7. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I went into my GPU settings (CCC) and told it to scale while keeping the aspect ratio, so D2's not all squashed when I'm fullscreening it.

    The black bars I can just pretend don't exist...
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hated it at first, but got used to it after a while. The lack of inventory space irked me more than the font, and back then there weren't any mods available.
     
  9. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  10. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    There's so much room for activities!
    http://i.imgur.com/Z052u.jpg
     

Share This Page