Dead R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by RollsRhys, Oct 21, 2010.

Oct 21, 2010

Dead R4? by RollsRhys at 3:33 AM (995 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. RollsRhys
    OP

    Newcomer RollsRhys Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hey,

    I have been using an original R4 for a few years, with a 1GB Kingston MicroSD card. Has been working 100% for a long time. Today I followed this tutorial. After I was done I loaded it up into my launch model DS, and got SD/TF Card Error. So I format the card, load it up again and the same error. Format again, put the old R4 firmware on there and got the same error.

    The SD card is perfectly readable in the computer and other devices, so I'm guessing my R4 is just dead? Is there something I'm missing here?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Just to be sure, try another MicroSD.

    If that doesn't work, try YSMenu.

    Also, blow out the MicroSD and it's slot very well and try again.

    I can help you with YSMenu if you need.
     
  3. RollsRhys
    OP

    Newcomer RollsRhys Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, seems to be working with the SanDisk card out of my camera, guess I'll just swap em around and hope the camera will work. Thanks!
     
  4. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    If you have heard of the paper trick. try that but in the sd slot!
    If you have not, what you do is, insert the micro sd, then get a small bit of paper.
    and slide it throught the gaoe at the front a little way down.
    Just did it on a ttds (SDHC). and it fixed it.
     
  5. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Paper trick won't help if the card is making contact, which it would be if it gives an SD read error...


    Just buy a new one.
     
  6. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    Wait you mentioned that it stopped working after you followed the guide. Did the guide tell you to download anything? (I'm too lazy to check) If yes, try removing what you added then check.
     

Share This Page