.Dat patcher

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Master-wiiner, Jun 30, 2010.

Jun 30, 2010

.Dat patcher by Master-wiiner at 4:12 AM (3,449 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Master-wiiner
    OP

    Newcomer Master-wiiner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Can anybody give me a link to a .Dat patcher? I want to play tales of innocence but I can't find one.
     
  2. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
    They included a README for a reason.
     
  3. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can use .dat files in XDeltaGUI.

    Just tell it to display all files rather than just .xdelta files.
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    This just makes me wonder how many people actually READ the readme...(I'm happy that I do xD)
     
  5. Master-wiiner
    OP

    Newcomer Master-wiiner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I read the readme but not fully, I thought it was just what they did to the game. Guess I should have looked over it better
     
  6. Master-wiiner
    OP

    Newcomer Master-wiiner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded xdelta, the one on their website it says xdeltaUI, and i click open patch, but it won't find it, but it will in the source and output section. Can anyone help. This is my first time using this and I don't really know what i'm doing.
     
  7. noname9889

    Newcomer noname9889 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    I come from a land down under
    Country:
    United States
  8. go2_ars

    Newcomer go2_ars Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Vietnam
    For the patch of Tales of Innocene, just rename it from toi.dat to toi.xdelta, it works with me
     
  9. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't need to rename anything to get the patch to work...
     
  10. Master-wiiner
    OP

    Newcomer Master-wiiner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the tips, but i figured out why it didn't work. When I was looking for the patch I had it only looking for .xdelta files not all files,and since the patch is a .dat file it wouldn't find it.
     
  11. chickenlilcurry

    Newcomer chickenlilcurry Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I have a mac and i cant get the patcher work because it wont recognize the .dat file
     
  12. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
  13. suruz

    Member suruz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, they gave a link for Mac users to patch it on the Patch Release page.

    Also, to anyone still not not clear on this: The .dat file can just be renamed to .xdelta!! Then you can use it normally with an xdelta patcher.

    Sorry, I know most people know that... *sigh*
     
  14. Fluffbutt

    Fluffbutt Newbie

    It doesn't matter if it's .dat or .xdelta, all I get is:

    "bad magic number: not a valid delta"
     
  15. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
    If you are using windows, then I suggest you to try using the patcher that is mentioned in the readme.
     
  16. Fluffbutt

    Fluffbutt Newbie

    Yes, using windows, but not using .net.

    (not ever..)

    Still:

    FINALLY got it patched.

    I had to recreate the original folders those guys used to make the patch file:

    Downloads\Nds Roms>xdelta decode toi.dat
    xdelta3: using default output filename: D : \ Visual Studio\toi\ToIeng.nds
    xdelta3: using default source filename: D : \ Visual Studio\toi\Data\Original\ToI.nds

    Lucky I HAVE a D : drive!!
     

Share This Page