Damn Dingoo...

Discussion in 'Online Stores and Purchases' started by Schizoanalysis, Apr 19, 2010.

Apr 19, 2010

Damn Dingoo... by Schizoanalysis at 5:26 AM (701 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    __ EDIT __

    Never mind -- I reset the unit..
     
  2. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I'd be eager to know what happened to you ... in case your issues happens to someone else?
     
  3. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    OK...

    I set it up according to the links Atashi gave... and I ran a GBA rom, and it froze on "loading...".

    I thought it was bricked -- and I tried reflashing it with the de-bricker Atashi linked to, but the Dingoo never registered as being plugged into my PC.

    Then I just reset the unit and it works now.

    Except for the GBA roms... it still gets stuck on "loading..." (but resetting it gets the unit back to working order)


    Will look into it when I have a bit more time... Bogged down with Uni work...

    I guess I just need a new GBA emulator (or maybe to rename the roms)...
     
  4. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know too much, but I think someone posted a very informative topic a few days ago about the Dingoo from ShopTemp!

    Linky here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=221024


    EDIT: JUST KIDDING.
    I didn't see that Atashi gave you the links >.< Sorry!
     
  5. Atashi

    Member Atashi Out of the Loop

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Are you using the gba emulator that was among the "hk-fix.zip" files? That's the one I'm using and so far, I've only had one game that won't work (star wars flight of the falcon). Though I mostly run homebrews, not sure if that will make a difference.

    Re. the Dingoo not being recognized when you tried to flash it, did you install the drivers that came with the flashing tool? If you did and it still didn't work, what version of Windows are you on? The drivers are not 64bit compatible, and I've read they don't work with Vista / 7 so you might need to run the flasher in "XP compatibility mode".

    Good luck!

    -Atashi
     
  6. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi Atashi -- Thanks for the reply, and thanks for your research!

    1) Yep, that's the one I used. I just copied the whole "games" folder from the HK-fix set over.

    2) Yep, I am running XP (SP1) and installed the drivers... and held down "B" when connecting...


    I'll give it another bash in the coming days... otherwise I'll just use it for media and the other emulators -- I have a GBM with an EZflashIV and a DSL with GBA expansion pack, so I am not in dire need of a GBA emulator! It was just the first thing I ran to test the unit (as I had a couple of roms handy)!

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Atashi

    Member Atashi Out of the Loop

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure if that's a typo but you hold down B when you turn it on or hit the reset button, not when connecting. When you boot the Dingoo while holding B it will actually appear to be off - the screen remains off - but it forces the CPU into a boot mode. Then when you plug it in, Windows should see it as new hardware and when it asks for drivers, point it to the driver that came with the flasher tool.

    I tried a few GBA commercial roms this morning and found a much lower ratio than I expected - very quick test but out of 3 that I tried, only 1 appeared to work properly. Maybe it's flawed and I just didn't notice as I really just play GBA homebrews.

    I've been reading the forums at dingoonity.com but I don't recall seeing anything about problems there, I'll check again though, and try testing the rest of my GBA roms tonight.

    Cheers!

    p.s. It should be 'game' on the Dingoo, not 'games'... if the original 'game' folder is there and you've copied the 'games' folder in addition, The dingoo would be running the original emus not the hk-fix ones. Just mentioning that just in case.
     

Share This Page